LibGuides: SUA Faculty Scholarship: Kirsch, Gesa

Books & Chapters

“Beyond the Personal: Theorizing a Politics of Location in Composition Research”
Call Number: eBook

Kirsch, Gesa E., and Joy S. Ritchie. “Beyond the Personal: Theorizing a Politics of Location in Composition Research.” In Cross-Talk in Comp Theory: A Reader, 4th edition, 377-400. Edited by Kristin L. Arola and Victor Villanueva. National Council of Teachers of English, 2024.
Unsettling Archival Research: Engaging Critical, Communal, and Digital Archives
Call Number: CD971 .U55 2023

Unsettling Archival Research: Engaging Critical, Communal, and Digital Archives. Edited by Gesa E. Kirsch, Romeo García, Caitlin Burns Allen, and Walker P. Smith. Carbondale, Illinois: Southern Illinois University Press, 2023.
“Social Networks as a Powerful Force for Change: Women in the History of Medicine and Computing”
Call Number: HQ1122 .R46 2019

Kirsch, Gesa E., and Patricia Fancher. “Social Networks as a Powerful Force for Change: Women in the History of Medicine and Computing.” In Remembering Women Differently: Refiguring Rhetorical Work, 21-38. Edited by Lynee Lewis Gaillet and Helen Gaillet Bailey. Columbia: University of South Carolina Press, 2019.
“Sit Down and Write, Get Up and Move”
Call Number: PN146 .E97 2019

Kirsch, Gesa E. “Sit Down and Write, Get Up and Move.” In Explanation Point: Publishing in Rhetoric and Composition, 17-20. Edited by Danielle DeVoss and John Gallagher. Logan: Utah State University Press, 2019.
“The Challenge of Making our Work Matter in Dark Times: Afterword”
Call Number: eBook

Kirsch, Gesa E. “The Challenge of Making our Work Matter in Dark Times: Afterword.” In Making Future Matters. Edited by Rick Wysocki and Mary P. Sheridan. Computers and Composition Digital Press, an imprint of Utah State University Press, 2018.
"Afterword: Serendipity and Ethics in Rhetoric, Writing, and Literacy Research"
Call Number: eBook

Kirsch, Gesa E. “Afterword: Serendipity and Ethics in Rhetoric, Writing, and Literacy Research.” In Serendipity in Rhetoric, Writing, and Literacy Research, 267-273. Edited by Maureen Daly Goggin and Peter N. Goggin. Utah State University Press, 2018.
“Social Circulation and Legacies of Mobility for Nineteenth-Century Women: Implications for Using Digital Resources in Socio-Rhetorical Projects”
Call Number: P301.5.S63 C57 2018

Royster, Jacqueline Jones and Gesa E. Kirsch. “Social Circulation and Legacies of Mobility for Nineteenth-Century Women: Implications for Using Digital Resources in Socio-Rhetorical Projects.” In Circulation, Writing and Rhetoric, 170-188. Edited by Laurie E. Gries and Collin Gifford Brooke. Logan: Utah State University Press, 2018.
"Introduction"
Call Number: R154.R443 A3 2017

Kirsch, Gesa E. "Introduction." In More Than Gold in California: The Life and Work of Dr. Mary Bennett Ritter. Edited by Gesa E. Kirsch. Guilford, CT: Two Dot, 2017.
“A Land Ethic for Urban Dwellers”
Call Number: eBook

Kirsch, Gesa E. “A Land Ethic for Urban Dwellers.” In Environmental Rhetoric and Ecologies of Place, 69-83. Edited by Peter N. Goggin. New York: Routledge, 2013.
Feminist Rhetorical Practices: New Horizons for Rhetoric, Composition, and Literacy Studies
Call Number: PE1405.U6 R65 2012

Royster, Jacqueline Jones, and Gesa E. Kirsch. Feminist Rhetorical Practices: New Horizons for Rhetoric, Composition, and Literacy Studies. Carbondale: Southern Illinois University, 2012.
“The Challenges of Conducting Ethically Responsible Research”
Call Number: PE1404 .P635 2012

Kirsch, Gesa E. “The Challenges of Conducting Ethically Responsible Research.” In Practicing Research in Writing Studies: Reflexive and Ethically Responsible Research, 409-414. Edited by Katrina M. Powell and Pamela Takayoshi. New York: Hampton Press, 2012.
“Developing a Sustainable Land Ethic in 21st Century Cities”
Call Number: eBook

Kirsch, Gesa E. “Developing a Sustainable Land Ethic in 21st Century Cities.” In Eco-Architecture IV: Harmonisation between Architecture and Nature, 139-147. Edited by Carlos A. Brebbia. Southampton, U.K.: Wessex Institute of Technology Press, 2012.
“Foreword: New Methodological Challenges for Writing Studies Researchers”
Call Number: eBook

Kirsch, Gesa E. “Foreword: New Methodological Challenges for Writing Studies Researchers.” In Writing Studies Research in Practice: Methods and Methodologies, xi – xvi. Edited by Lee Nickoson and Mary P. Sheridan. Carbondale: Southern Illinois University Press, 2012.
"Introduction: The Role of Serendipity, Family Connections, and Cultural Memory in Historical Research"
Call Number: PE1404 .B496 2008

Kirsch, Gesa E and Liz Rohan. "Introduction: The Role of Serendipity, Family Connections, and Cultural Memory in Historical Research." In Beyond the Archives: Research as a Lived Process, 20-27. Edited by Gesa E. Kirsch and Liz Rohan. Carbondale: Southern Illinois University Press, 2008.
“Being on Location: Serendipity, Place, and Archival Research”
Call Number: PE1404 .B496 2008

Kirsch, Gesa E. “Being on Location: Serendipity, Place, and Archival Research.” In Beyond the Archives: Research as a Lived Process, 20-27. Edited by Gesa E. Kirsch and Liz Rohan. Carbondale: Southern Illinois University Press, 2008.
"Response to 'Practicing for Romance'"
Call Number: LC151 .W44 2004

Kirsch, Gesa E. "Response to 'Practicing for Romance'." In What They Don't Learn in School: Literacy in the Lives of Urban Youth, 181-184. Edited by Jabari Mahiri. New York: Peter Lang, 2004.
"Ethics and the Future of Composition Research"
Call Number: PE1404 .C626 2003

Kirsch, Gesa E. "Ethics and the Future of Composition Research." In Composition Studies in the New Millennium: Rereading the Past, Rewriting the Future, 129-141. Edited by Lynn Z. Bloom, Donald A. Daiker, and Edward M. White. Carbondale: Southern Illinois University Press, 2003.
"Introduction: charting our ways in feminism and composition"
Call Number: PE1405.U6 F464 2003

Kirsch, Gesa E., Faye Spencer Maor, Lance Massey, Lee Nickoson-Massey, and Mary P. Sheridan-Rabideau. “Introduction: charting our ways in feminism and composition.” In Feminism and Composition: A Critical Sourcebook, 1–6. Edited by Gesa E. Kirsch, Faye Spencer Maor, Lance Massey, Lee Nickoson-Massey, and Mary P. Sheridan-Rabideau. Boston, MA: Bedford-St Martin's, 2003.
"Beyond the Personal: Theorizing a Politics of Location in Composition Research"
Call Number: PE1405.U6 F464 2003

Kirsch, Gesa E. and Joy S. Ritchie. “Beyond the Personal: Theorizing a Politics of Location in Composition Research.” In Feminism and Composition: A Critical Sourcebook, 140–159. Edited by Gesa E. Kirsch, Faye Spencer Maor, Lance Massey, Lee Nickoson-Massey, and Mary P. Sheridan-Rabideau. Boston, MA: Bedford-St Martin's, 2003.
Cross-Talk in Comp Theory
Kirsch, Gesa E. and Joy Ritchie. "Beyond the Personal: Theorizing a Politics of Location in Composition Research." In Cross-Talk in Comp Theory Second edition. Edited by Victor Villanueva. Urbana, IL: National Council of Teachers of English, 2003. 523-546.
(Newer edition available: https://soka.on.worldcat.org/oclc/700735412)
"Reflecting on Collaboration in Feminist Empirical Research: Some Cautions"
Call Number: PE1404 .F394 1999

Kirsch, Gesa E. "Reflecting on Collaboration in Feminist Empirical Research: Some Cautions." In Feminist Empirical Research: Emerging Perspectives on Qualitative and Teacher Research, 158-162. Edited by Sharon James McGee and Joanne Addison. Portsmouth, NH: Heinemann, 1999.
"Reflecting on Authority"
Kirsch, Gesa E., and Peter Mortensen. "Reflecting on Authority." In On Writing Research: CCCC Braddock Essays 1975-1998, 334-335. Edited by Lisa Ede. New York: St. Martin's Press, 1999.
Ethical Dilemmas in Feminist Research: The Politics of Location, Interpretation, and Publication
Call Number: HQ1180 .K57 1999

Kirsch, Gesa E. Ethical Dilemmas in Feminist Research: The Politics of Location, Interpretation, and Publication. Albany: State University of New York Press, 1999.
"Introduction: Reflections on Methodology in Literacy Studies"
Call Number: PE1404 .E86 1996

Kirsch, Gesa E. and Peter Mortensen. "Introduction: Reflections on Methodology in Literacy Studies." In Ethics and Representation in Qualitative Studies of Literacy, xix-xxxiv. Edited by Peter Mortensen and Gesa E. Kirsch. Urbana, IL: National Council of Teachers of English, 1996.
Women Writing the Academy: Audience, Authority, and Transformation
Call Number: PE1405.U6 K57 1993

Kirsch, Gesa E. Women Writing the Academy: Audience, Authority, and Transformation. Carbondale: Southern Illinois University Press, 1993.
"Methodological Pluralism: Epistemological Issues"
Call Number: PE1404 .M47 1992

Kirsch, Gesa E. "Methodological Pluralism: Epistemological Issues." In Methods and Methodology in Composition Research, 247-269. Edited by Gesa E. Kirsch and Patricia Sullivan. Carbondale: Southern Illinois University Press, 1992.
"Introduction: Theories and Research on Audience in Written Communication"
Call Number: P211 .S46 1990

Kirsch, Gesa E., and Duane H. Roen. "Introduction: Theories and Research on Audience in Written Communication." In A Sense of Audience in Written Communication. Edited by Gesa E. Kirsch and Duane H. Roen. Newbury Park, CA: Sage Publications, 1990.
"Experienced Writers' Sense of Audience and Authority: Three Case Studies"
Call Number: P211 .S46 1990

Kirsch, Gesa E. "Experienced Writers' Sense of Audience and Authority: Three Case Studies." In A Sense of Audience in Written Communication, 216-230. Edited by Gesa E. Kirsch and Duane Roen. Newbury Park, CA: Sage Publications, 1990.

Journal Articles

Addressing the Barriers between Us and that Future via Deep Rhetoricity
García, Romeo, Gesa E. Kirsch, Valeria Guevara Fernandez, and Nicole Salazar. “Addressing the Barriers Between Us and That Future via Deep Rhetoricity.” Peitho: Journal of the Coalition of Feminist Scholars in the History of Rhetoric and Composition 26, no. 1 (2023).
Deep Rhetoricity as Methodological Grounds for Unsettling Archival Research
García, Romeo, and Gesa E. Kirsch. “Deep Rhetoricity as Methodological Grounds for Unsettling Archival Research.” College Composition and Communication 74, no. 2 (2022): 230-62.
(Full-text available through ILL)
Introduction to Part I: Unsettling Archival Studies
Smith, Walker P., and Gesa E. Kirsch. "Introduction to Part I: Unsettling Archival Studies." Across the Disciplines: Special Issue on Unsettling the Archives. Edited by Gesa E. Kirsch and Walker P. Smith 18, no. 1/2 (2022): 1-4.
Unsettling the Archives
Kirsch, Gesa E., Romeo García, Caitlin Burns and Walker P. Smith, guest editors. “Unsettling the Archives,” special double issue. Across the Disciplines 18, no. 1/2 (November 2021).
Feminist Practices in Digital Humanities Research: Visualizing Women Physicians’ Networks of Solidarity, Struggle and Exclusion
Fancher, Patricia, Gesa E. Kirsch and Alison Williams. “Feminist Practices in Digital Humanities Research: Visualizing Women Physicians’ Networks of Solidarity, Struggle and Exclusion.” Peitho: Journal of the Coalition of Feminist Scholars in the History of Rhetoric and Composition 20, no. 2 (winter 2020).
Changing the Landscape: Feminist Rhetorical Practices: New Horizons for Rhetoric, Composition and Literacy Studies, Five Years Later.
Lisa Mastrangelo, David Gold, Nicole Khoury, Michael J. Faris, Rebecca Dingo, Rachel Riedner, Jennifer Wingard, Kirsch, Gesa E., and Jacqueline Jones Royster. "Changing the Landscape: Feminist Rhetorical Practices: New Horizons for Rhetoric, Composition and Literacy Studies, Five Years Later.” Peitho 20, no. 2 (2018): 160-97.
Feminism and Composition: A Critical Sourcebook
Kirsch, Gesa E., Faye Spencer Maor, Lance Massey, Lee Nickoson-Massey, and Mary P. Sheridan-Rabideau, editors. "Feminism and Composition: A Critical Sourcebook". College composition and communication 56, no. 1, (2004): 157
Sex, Labor, and Bodies: The Regulatory Power of Rhetoric.
Kirsch, Gesa E. “Sex, Labor, and Bodies: The Regulatory Power of Rhetoric.” Rhetoric Society Quarterly 46, no. 5 (2016): 459-464.
Reflections: New Ethical Questions for Archival Researchers.
Kirsch, Gesa E. “Reflections: New Ethical Questions for Archival Researchers.” Provocations: Reconstructing the Archives featuring the work of Erin R. Anderson, Trisha N. Campbell, Alexandra Hidalgo and Jody Shipka. Ed. Patrick W. Berry, Gail E. Hawisher, and Cynthia L. Selfe.
Creating Visions of Reality: A Rhetoric of Response, Engagement, and Social Action.
Kirsch, Gesa E. “Creating Visions of Reality: A Rhetoric of Response, Engagement, and Social Action.” JAC: A Journal for Rhetoric, Culture, and Politics. 34, no. 1 & 2 (2014): 25-47.
Feminist Rhetorical Practices: In Search of Excellence.
Kirsch, Gesa E., and Jacqueline Jones Royster. “Feminist Rhetorical Practices: In Search of Excellence.” College Composition and Communication 61, no. 4 (2010): 640-672.
From Introspection to Action: Connecting Spirituality and Civic Engagement.
Kirsch, Gesa E. “From Introspection to Action: Connecting Spirituality and Civic Engagement.” College Composition and Communication 60 (2009): W1-W15.
Creating Spaces for Listening, Learning, and Sustaining the Inner Lives of Students.
Kirsch, Gesa E. “Creating Spaces for Listening, Learning, and Sustaining the Inner Lives of Students.” Journal of the Assembly on Expanded Perspectives on Learning 14 (Winter 2008-2009): 56-67.
Women, Leadership, and Social Change: Past and Present.
Goldman, Maureen and Gesa E. Kirsch. “Women, Leadership, and Social Change: Past and Present.” The International Journal of Diversity in Organisations, Communities and Nations 5, no. 6 (2006): 125-132.
Friendship, Friendliness, and Feminist Fieldwork.
Kirsch, Gesa E. "Friendship, Friendliness, and Feminist Fieldwork." Signs: Journal of Women in Culture and Society 30, no. 4 (Summer 2005): 2163-2172.
Toward an Engaged Rhetoric of Professional Practice.
Kirsch, Gesa E. “Toward an Engaged Rhetoric of Professional Practice.” JAC: A Quarterly Journal for the Interdisciplinary Study of Rhetoric, Writing, Multiple Literacies, and Politics 22, no. 2 (Spring 2002): 414-421.
The Politics of the Personal: Storying Our Lives Against the Grain.
Brandt, Deborah, Ellen Cushman, Anne Ruggles Gere, Anne Herrington, Richard E. Miller, Victor Villanueva, Min-Zhan Lu, and Gesa E. Kirsch. "The Politics of the Personal: Storying Our Lives Against the Grain." College English 63, no. 1 (2001): 41-62.
Reflecting on Ethical Dilemmas in Feminist Research.
Kirsch, Gesa E. "Reflecting on Ethical Dilemmas in Feminist Research." JAC: A Quarterly Journal for the Interdisciplinary Study of Rhetoric, Writing, Multiple Literacies, and Politics. Electronic publication, December 15, 1999.
(Full-text available through ILL)
Response to David Seitz.
Kirsch, Gesa E. "Response to David Seitz." College English 60, no. 3 (1998): 344-345.
Conference on the Growing Use of Part-time/Adjunct Faculty: Reflections from NCTE Participants.
Kirsch, Gesa E. "Conference on the Growing Use of Part-time/Adjunct Faculty: Reflections from NCTE Participants." Forum: Newsletter of the Non-Tenure Track Faculty Special Interest Group. In College Composition and Communication 49, no. 2 (1998): A13-A15.
Multivocal Texts and Interpretive Responsibility.
Kirsch, Gesa E. "Multivocal Texts and Interpretive Responsibility." College English 59, no. 2 (1997): 191-202.
A Comment on 'Teaching and Learning as a Man.'"
Kirsch, Gesa E. "A Comment on 'Teaching and Learning as a Man.'" College English 58 (1996): 966-68.
Beyond the Personal: Theorizing a Politics of Location in Composition Research.
Kirsch, Gesa E. and Joy Ritchie. "Beyond the Personal: Theorizing a Politics of Location in Composition Research." College Composition and Communication 46, no. 1 (1995): 7-29.
The Politics of I-Dropping.
Kirsch, Gesa E. "The Politics of I-Dropping." College Composition and Communication 45, no. 3 (1994): 381-383.
On Authority in the Study of Writing.
Mortensen, Peter, and Gesa E. Kirsch. "On Authority in the Study of Writing." College Composition and Communication 44, no. 4 (1993): 556-72. Winner of the 1994 Richard Braddock Award.
Writing Up and Down the Social Ladder: A Study of Experienced Writers Composing for Contrasting Audiences.
Kirsch, Gesa E. "Writing Up and Down the Social Ladder: A Study of Experienced Writers Composing for Contrasting Audiences." Research in the Teaching of English 25, no. 1 (1991): 33-53.
Authority in Reader-Writer Relationships.
Kirsch, Gesa E. "Authority in Reader-Writer Relationships." Reader: Essays in Reader-Oriented Theory, Criticism, and Pedagogy 21 (1989): 56-67.
Response to 'Only One of the Voices: Dialogic Writing Across the Curriculum.'"
Kirsch, Gesa E. "Response to 'Only One of the Voices: Dialogic Writing Across the Curriculum.'" College English 51 (1989): 99-101.
Students' Interpretations of Writing Tasks: A Case Study.
Kirsch, Gesa E. "Students' Interpretations of Writing Tasks: A Case Study." Journal of Basic Writing 7, no. 2 (1988): 81-90.
Writing Across the Curriculum: The Program at Third College, University of California, San Diego.
Kirsch, Gesa E. "Writing Across the Curriculum: The Program at Third College, University of California, San Diego." WPA: Writing Program Administration 12 (1988): 47-55.

More Information

Gesa Kirsch, PhD - SUA Directory