LibGuides: SUA Faculty Scholarship: Allinson, Robert

Books & Book Chapters

"The Social Nature of the Human Being: A Metaphysical Foundation for Akan Ethics and Western, African and the Primacy of Duty in Akan Ethics and Chinese Confucian Philosophy"
Allinson, Robert E. "The Social Nature of the Human Being: A Metaphysical Foundation for Akan Ethics and Western, African and the Primacy of Duty in Akan Ethics and Chinese Confucian Philosophy." In Contemporary Debates in African and Western Philosophy: Analytic and Intercultural Approaches. Edited by Whitaker Monique and Jonathan O. Chimakonam. London: Bloomsbury Academic, 2025.
(Full-text available through ILL)
"The Philosophy of Mao Zedong"
Call Number: Forthcoming

Allinson, Robert E. "The Philosophy of Mao Zedong." In Chinese Philosophy and Its Thinkers. Edited by Dawid Rogacz. London: Bloomsbury, 2024.
(Full-text available through ILL)
Foreword to Professor Chioma Carol Opera
Allinson, Robert E. "Foreword to Professor Chioma Carol Opera." Festschrift, April 30, 2024.
(Full-text available through ILL)
"The Place of Buddhist Economics in Overcoming Global Inequity"
Allinson, Robert E. "The Place of Buddhist Economics in Overcoming Global Inequity." In Place Based Approaches to Sustainability, Palgrave Series on Studies on Sustainable Business in Association with Future Earth. Edited by Del Baldo, Mara, Righini, and Maria-Gabriella Baldarelli. Cham, Switzerland: Palgrave Macmillan, 2024.
(Full-text available through ILL)
"The Social Nature of the Human Being: A Metaphysical Foundation for Akan Ethics and the Primacy of Duty in Akan Ethics and Chinese Confucian Philosophy"
Allinson, Robert E. "The Social Nature of the Human Being: A Metaphysical Foundation for Akan Ethics and the Primacy of Duty in Akan Ethics and Chinese Confucian Philosophy." Edited by Monique Whitaker. Contemporary issues in African Philosophy, Bloomsbury, 2023.
(Full-text available through ILL)
Awakening Philosophy: The Loss of Truth
Call Number: BD171 .A48 2022

Allinson, Robert E. Awakening Philosophy: The Loss of Truth. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2022.
"Buddhist Economics: The Global View"
Allinson, Robert E. "Buddhist Economics: The Global View." In The Spirit of Conscious Capitalism: Contribution of World Religions and Spiritualities, 339-360. Edited by Michel Dion and Moses Pava. Cham: Springer, 2022.
(Full-text available through ILL)
"Marie Pauline Eboh's Dedication to Humanity and Philosophy: Gynism, Hegel's Master Slave Dialectic, Marxism and the Influence of Simone de Beauvoir."
Allinson, Robert E. "Marie Pauline Eboh's Dedication to Humanity and Philosophy: Gynism, Hegel's Master Slave Dialectic, Marxism and the Influence of Simone de Beauvoir." In Philosophy, Universal Dialogue and Intersectionality: Philosophical Essays in Honour of Marie Pauline Eboh, 121-137. Edited by Maraizu Elechi and Christiana C. M. N. Idika. Enugu, Nigeria: Rhyce Kerex Publishers, 2021.
(Full-text available through ILL)
"The Whirlpool of Time"
Call Number: BL1942.85.T56 D36 2021

Allinson, Robert E. "The Whirlpool of Time." in Dao and Time: Classical Philosophy. St. Petersburg: Three Pines Press, 2020.
"A Paragon of Righteous Virtue"
Call Number: BJ55 .P47 2020

Allinson, Robert E. "A Paragon of Righteous Virtue." in Perry Mason and Philosophy the Case of the Awesome Attorney, 11-27. Edited by Heather L Rivera and Robert Arp. La Salle: Open Court, 2020.
The Philosophical Influences of Mao Zedong: Notations, Reflections and Insights
Call Number: DS778.M3 .A45 2020

Allinson, Robert E. The Philosophical Influences of Mao Zedong : Notations, Reflections and Insights. London: Bloomsbury Academic, 2020.
A Metaphysics for the Future
Call Number: BD111 .A48 2018

Allinson, Robert E. A Metaphysics for the Future (Routledge Revivals). New York: Routledge, 2018.
“Leibniz, Infinity and the Nature of the Divine.”
Call Number: BD444 .D35 2016 v.14

Allinson, Robert E. “Leibniz, Infinity and the Nature of the Divine.” in Death and Anti-Death, Volume 14: Four Decades after Michael Polanyi, Three Centuries after G.W. Leibniz, 43-56. Edited by Charles Tandy. Ann Arbor: Ria University Press, 2016.
“An Aristotelian Renaissance: Aristotelian Ethics for Today.”
Call Number: eBook

Allinson, Robert E. “An Aristotelian Renaissance: Aristotelian Ethics for Today.” in Greek Philosophy and Moral and Political Issues, 9-25. Edited by Maria Adam and Maria Veneti. Athens: Ionia Publications, 2015.
“How Metaphor Functions in the Zhuangzi: The Case of the Unlikely Messenger”
Call Number: BL1900.C576 N46 2015

Allinson, Robert E. “How Metaphor Functions in the Zhuangzi: The Case of the Unlikely Messenger.” In New Visions of the Zhuangzi, 102-124. Edited by Livia Kohn. St Petersburg, FL: Three Pines Press, 2015.
“Intercultural Hermeneutics.”
Call Number: eBook

Allinson, Robert E. “Intercultural Hermeneutics.” In Encyclopedia of Chinese Philosophy, 405-410. Edited by Antonio S. Cua. Hoboken: Routledge, 2013.
Saving Human Lives: Lessons in Management Ethics.
Call Number: HF5387 .A45 2005

Allinson, Robert E. Saving Human Lives: Lessons in Management Ethics. Dordrecht, Netherlands: Springer, 2005.
Space, Time and the Ethical Foundations
Call Number: BD632 .A455 2002

Allinson, Robert E. Space, Time, and the Ethical Foundations. Burlington, VT: Ashgate, 2002
A Metaphysics for the Future
Call Number: BD111 .A48 2001

Allinson, Robert E. A Metaphysics for the Future. Burlington, VT: Ashgate, 2001.
Global Disasters: Inquiries into Management Ethics
Call Number: HV551.3 .A45 1993

Allinson, Robert E. Global Disasters: Inquiries into Management Ethics. Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Prentice-Hall, 1994.
Chuang-Tzu for Spiritual Transformation: an Analysis of the Inner Chapters
Call Number: BL1900.C576 A45 1989

Allinson, Robert E. Chuang-Tzu for Spiritual Transformation: An Analysis of the Inner Chapters. Albany: State University of New York Press, 1989.
Understanding the Chinese Mind: the Philosophical Roots
Call Number: B126 .U45 1989

Allinson, Robert E., ed. Understanding the Chinese Mind: The Philosophical Roots. Hong Kong: Oxford University Press, 1989.
Harmony and Strife: Contemporary Perspectives, East & West
Call Number: B105.H37 H37 1988

Liu, Shuxian, and Robert E. Allinson, eds. Harmony and Strife: Contemporary Perspectives, East & West. Hong Kong: Chinese University Press, 1988.

Editorial Board

More Information

Robert Allinson, PhD - SUA Directory

Journal Articles

The Possibility of a Global Civilization
Allinson, Robert E. "The Possibility of a Global Civilization." The Comparative Civilizations Review 89, no. 89 (August 2023): 52-67.
Reaching Universalism in Dialogue
Allinson, Robert E. "Reaching Universalism in Dialogue" Culture and Values, no. 34 (2023): 71-84.
On the Question of Whether We Need a New Enlightenment for the 21st Century
Allinson, Robert E. "On the Question of Whether We Need a New Enlightenment for the 21st Century" Dialogue and Universalism 33, no. 1 (2023): 217-228.
Do We Need a New Enlightenment for the Twenty-first Century? Part II
Allinson, Robert E. "Do We Need a New Enlightenment for the Twenty-first Century? Part II" Dialogue & Universalism 31, no. 3 (2021): 5-18.
(Full-text available through ILL)
Do We Need a New Enlightenment for the Twenty-first Century?
Allinson, Robert E. "Do We Need a New Enlightenment for the Twenty-first Century?" Dialogue & Universalism 31, no. 2 (2021): 5-25.
(Full-text available through ILL)
Unmasking Color Racism
Allinson, Robert E. "Unmasking Color Racism" Dialogue and Universalism 31, no. 1 (2021): 41-67
(Full-text available through ILL)
Dialogue in Universalism and Universalism in Dialogue
Allinson, Robert E. "Dialogue in Universalism and Universalism in Dialogue." Dialogue and Universalism 30, no. 2 (2020): 19-33
(Full-text available through ILL)
The Problem of the External World in René Descartes, Edmund Husserl, Immanuel Kant and the Evil Genius: A Perennial Problem for Philosophers?
Allinson, Robert E. "The Problem of the External World in René Descartes, Edmund Husserl, Immanuel Kant and the Evil Genius: A Perennial Problem for Philosophers?" Dialogue and Universalism, 30, No. 1 (2020), 57-66.
(Full-text available through ILL)
The Primacy of Duty and Its Efficacy in Combating COVID-19
Allinson, Robert E. "The Primacy of Duty and Its Efficacy in Combating COVID-19." Public Health Ethics 13, no. 2 (2020): 179-189
An Aesthetic Theory in Four Dimensions: Collingwood and Beyond
Allinson, Robert E. “An Aesthetic Theory in Four Dimensions: Collingwood and Beyond.” Dialogue and Universalism 29, no. 2 (2019): 53–64.
Mao’s Contributions to Marxism and Dialectical Materialism
Allinson, Robert E. “Mao’s Contributions to Marxism and Dialectical Materialism.” Dialogue & Universalism 28, no. 3 (2018): 203-232.
(Full-text available through ILL)
The Relationship Between Intelligibility and Truth in Basic Arithmetic Propositions
Allinson, Robert E. “The Relationship Between Intelligibility and Truth in Basic Arithmetic Propositions.” Analele Universităţiidin Craiova Seria: Filosofie, 39, no.1 (2017): 67-75.
Nachman Krochmal and the Argument from Design.
Allinson, Robert E. "Nachman Krochmal and the Argument from Design." Judaica Petropolitana, no. 7 (2017): 19-33.
The Ethical Relevance of Risk Assessment and Risk Heeding: The Space Shuttle Challenger Launch Decision as an Object Lesson
Allinson, Robert E. “The Ethical Relevance of Risk Assessment and Risk Heeding: the Space Shuttle Challenger Launch Decision as an Object Lesson.” Ramon Llull Journal of Applied Ethics, no. 7 (2016): 93-120.
Zhuangzi and Buber in Dialogue: A Lesson in Practicing Integrative Philosophy
Allinson, Robert E. “Zhuangzi and Buber in Dialogue: A Lesson in Practicing Integrative Philosophy.” Dao 15, no. 4 (December 2016): 547–62.
Key Pedagogic Thinkers: Jean Baudrillard
Williams, James D., and Robert E. Allinson. “Key Pedagogic Thinkers: Jean Baudrillard.” Journal of Pedagogic Development 6, no. 2 (2016).
(Full-text available through ILL)
Of Fish, Butterflies and Birds: Relativism and Nonrelative Valuation in the Zhuangzi
Allinson, Robert E. “Of Fish, Butterflies and Birds: Relativism and Nonrelative Valuation in the Zhuangzi.” Asian Philosophy 25, no. 3 (July 2015): 238–52.
How to Say What Cannot be Said: Metaphor in the Zhuangzi
Allinson, Robert E. “How to Say What Cannot Be Said: Metaphor in the Zhuangzi.” Journal of Chinese Philosophy 41, no. 3–4 (2014): 268–86.
(Full-text available through ILL)
Snakes and Dragons, Rat's Liver and Fly's Leg: The Butterfly Dream Revisited
Allinson, Robert E. “Snakes and Dragons, Rat’s Liver and Fly’s Leg: The Butterfly Dream Revisited.” Dao 11, no. 4 (December 2012): 513–20.
Evil Banalized: Eichmann's Master Performance in Jerusalem
Allinson, Robert E. “Evil Banalized: Eichmann’s Master Performance in Jerusalem.” Iyyun: The Jerusalem Philosophical 60, (July 2011): 275–300.
The Butterfly, the Mole and the Sage
Allinson, Robert E. “The Butterfly, the Mole and the Sage.” Asian Philosophy 19, no. 3 (November 2009): 213–23.
Wittgenstein, Lao Tzu and Chuang Tzu: The Art of Circumlocution
Allinson, Robert E. “Wittgenstein, Lao Tzu and Chuang Tzu: The Art of Circumlocution.” Asian Philosophy 17, no. 1 (March 2007): 97–108.
The General and the Master: The Subtext of the Philosophy of Emotion and its Relationship to Obtaining Enlightenment in the "Platform Sutra"
Allinson, Robert E. “The General and the Master: The Subtext of the Philosophy of Emotion and its Relationship to Obtaining Enlightenment in the ‘Platform Sutra.’” Revue Internationale de Philosophie 59 no. 232 (2005): 213-29.
Circles within a Circle: The Condition for the Possibility of Ethical Business Institutions within a Market System
Allinson, Robert E. “Circles within a Circle: The Condition for the Possibility of Ethical Business Institutions Within a Market System.” Journal of Business Ethics 53, no. 1 (August 2004): 17–28.
Hillel and Confucius: The Proscriptive Formulation of the Golden Rule in the Jewish and Chinese Confucian Ethical Traditions
Allinson, Robert E. “Hillel and Confucius: The Prescriptive Formulation of the Golden Rule in the Jewish and Chinese Confucian Ethical Traditions.” Dao 3, no. 1 (December 2003): 29–41
(Full-text available through ILL)
On Chuang Tzu as a Deconstructionist with a Difference
Allinson, Robert E. “On Chuang Tzu as a Deconstructionist with a Difference.” Journal of Chinese Philosophy 30, no. 3–4 (October 2003): 487–500.
(Full-text available through ILL)
Aristotle and Averroes: The Problem of Necessity and Contingency
Allinson, Robert E. “Aristotle and Averroes: The Problem of Necessity and Contingency.” Philosophical Inquiry 25, no. 3-4 (Summer 2003): 189-97.
The Cog in the Machine Manifesto: The Banality and the Inevitability of Evil
Allinson, Robert E. “The ‘Cog in the Machine’ Manifesto: The Banality and the Inevitability of Evil.” Business Ethics Quarterly 8, no. 4 (October 1998): 743–56.
Ethical Values as Part of the Definition of Business Enterprise and Part of the Internal Structure of the Business Organization
Allinson, Robert E. “Ethical Values as Part of the Definition of Business Enterprise and Part of the Internal Structure of the Business Oganization.” Journal of Business Ethics 17, no. 9-10 (July 1998): 1015–28.
Complementarity As a Model for East-West Integrative Philosophy
Allinson, Robert E. “Complementarity as a Model for East-West Integrative Philosophy.” Journal of Chinese Philosophy 25, no. 4 (June 1998): 505–17.
(Full-text available through ILL)
Plato's Forgotten Four Pages of the Seventh Epistole
Allinson, Robert E. “Plato’s Forgotten Four Pages of the Seventh Epistole.” Philosophical Inquiry 20, no. 1-2 (April 1998): 49-69.
The Debate between Mencius and Hsün-Tzu: Contemporary Applications
Allinson, Robert E. “The Debate Between Mencius and Hsün-Tzu: Contemporary Applications.” Journal of Chinese Philosophy 25, no. 1 (March 1998): 31–49.
(Full-text available through ILL)
A Call for Ethically-centered Management
Allinson, Robert E. “A Call for Ethically-Centered Management.” Academy of Management Executive 9, no. 1 (February 1995): 73–76.
Moral Values and the Taoist Sage in the Tao de Ching
Allinson, Robert E. “Moral Values and the Taoist Sage in the Tao de Ching.” Asian Philosophy 4, no. 2 (October 1994): 127–36.
Anselm's One Argument
Allinson, Robert E. “Anselm’s One Argument.” Philosophical Inquiry 15, no. 1-2 (April 1993): 16-19.
A Hermeneutic Reconstruction of the Child in the Well Example
Allinson, Robert E. “A Hermeneutic Reconstruction of the Child in the Well Example.” Journal of Chinese Philosophy 19, no. 3 (September 1992): 297–308.
(Full-text available through ILL)
The Golden Rule as the Core Value in Confucianism & Christianity: Ethical Similarities and Differences
Allinson, Robert E. “The Golden Rule as the Core Value in Confucianism & Christianity: Ethical Similarities and Differences.” Asian Philosophy 2, no. 2 (October 1992): 173–85.
On the Question of Relativism in the Chuang-tzu
Allinson, Robert E. “On the Question of Relativism in the Chuang-Tzu.” Philosophy East and West 39, no. 1 (January 1989): 13–26.
On the Origin of the Relativistic Thesis for Interpretations of the Chuang-Tzu
Allinson, Robert E. “On the Origin of the Relativistic Thesis for Interpretations of the Chuang-Tzu.” Hanxue Yanjiu (Chinese Studies) 6, no. 2 (December 1988): 275–98.
(Full-text available through ILL)
A Logical Reconstruction of the Butterfly Dream in the "Chuang Tzu" and An Argument for Its Provisional Status
Allinson, Robert E. “A Logical Reconstruction of the Butterfly Dream in the ‘Chuang Tzu’ And An Argument for Its Provisional Status.” Journal of Chinese Studies 4, no. 1 (April 1987): 63–79.
Early Literary Forms of Self-Transformation in the Chuang-tzu
Allinson, Robert E. “Early Literary Forms of Self-Transformation in the Chuang-Tzu.” Tamkang Review: A Quarterly of Comparative Studies between Chinese and Foreign Literatures 17, no. 2 (Winter 1986): 97–108.
(Full-text available through ILL; Indexed in MLA International Bibliography)
Having Your Cake and Eating It, too: Evaluation and Trans-evaluation in Chuang Tzu and Nietzsche
Allinson, Robert E. “Having Your Cake and Eating It, Too: Evaluation and Trans-Evaluation in Chuang Tzu and Nietzsche.” Journal of Chinese Philosophy 13, no. 4 (December 1986): 429–43.
(Full-text available through ILL)
The Confucian Golden Rule: A Negative Formulation
Allinson, Robert E. “The Confucian Golden Rule: A Negative Formulation.” Journal of Chinese Philosophy 12, no. 3 (September 1985): 305–15.
(Full-text available through ILL)
The Buddhist Theory of Instantaneous Being: The Ur-Concept of Buddhism
Allinson, Robert E. “The Buddhist Theory of Instantaneous Being: The Ur-Concept of Buddhism.” The Eastern Buddhist 8, no. 1 (May 1975): 133–48.