Archives: The Pearl: 2005

This issue includes the following titles:

Letter from the Editor By WuLa Dawson
Letter from the President By Daniel Y. Habuki, Ph.D.
Are Seniors Ready? By Mitsuko Takahashi
The Strength of Mitsuko Matsumoto By Vanessa Rubinfeld
Soka Education "Quotes" By Ana Arevalo
Soka University of America at Aliso Viejo Swim Team Update By Fabiana Sanchez and Ramon Paras
SUA-AV Track & Field By Andrew Welty
Involved or Too Involved? By Victoria Kraus
Soka Education Extracting from the Abstract, an Op-Ed By Rehka Gokhale
SUA's First Ever Soka Education Conference By Ryo Eugene Kondo
Fearless Dialogue By Ikeda Speech Discussion Committee
Heart of Music: An Interview with Mr. William Fitzpatrick Director of Instrumental Music at Soka University of America- Aliso Viejo By Masatako Ito
Apollo's Ground
>>Artist of the Month: Michael Strand
>>A Precious Experience By Tomomi Park
Fostering a "Galaxy" of People By Rei Kanemura
Soka School Update By Anna Ikeda
Music Review: Stephen Malkmus & the Jicks: Pig Lib By Michael O'Malley
Potty Break By Nicole Chu
Founder's Corner By Dr. Daisaku Ikeda

This issue includes the following titles

Letter from the Editor By Karen Castilla Roca
Smoking on Campus By Anonymous
Farting: Noise Without Substance By Katie Widlund
30 Days Left By Mitsuko Takahashi
Unveiling "The Heart of a Lion By Rei Kanemura
Insaka, Soka's First Africa-Centered Club, Hold Debut Event By Ryo Eugene Kondo
Garbage in - Gold Out: Composting on Campus for a Sustainable Future By Sally MacWilliams and Aditi Rao
Apollo's Ground
>>Artist of the Month: Sunny Seo
How to Get Dog S#$t Smell Out of Your Nose By Monika Kawai
The Punky OC: Orange County's Punk Rock Scene By Wandile Mkhusile
"Million Dollar Baby" Wronged in Recent Reviews: An Opinion By Victoria Kraus
Music Review: Laura cantrell: When the Roses Bloom Again (2002) & Humming by the Flower Vine (June 2005) By Michael O'Malley
Potty Break By Nicole Chu
Founder's Corner By Dr. Daisaku Ikeda

This issue includes the following titles:

Letter from the Editor By Nathan Gauer
Making America Better: African Americans Pledge to Hold Leadership Accountable By WuLa Dawson
The Trailblazers By Mitsuko Takahashi
Potty Break By Nicole Chu
Founder's Corner By Dr. Daisaku Ikeda
Message to the class of 2009
Top 10 Things About Being a Member of the First Class and a Senior By Ellie Dawson and Samantha Hawkins
Mike and Mike's SUA Top Ten By Michael Strand and Michael J. O'Malley
To The Class of 2005: One Last Discussion an Interview with Five Members of the Class of 2005 By David K. Smith
Messages to Seniors

This issue includes the following titles

Festival Guide
Exhibitor Guide
Activities
Information
Festival Entertainment Guide
A Powerful Sense of Becoming All That You Can Be: An Interview with Dean Carter By Nathan Gauer
Apollo's Ground

This issue includes the following titles:

The Pearl: From Flab to Fab By Emily Frausto
Big Deans on Campus By Ken Baxer
Hurricane Katrina By Cintia Kussuda and Elizabeth Pastor
Study Abroad, Class, and Privilege By Michael Bianco
Fresh Reasons to Attend SUA By Stephanie Samaniego
The Oleanders at Ground Zero By Giuliana Schroeder
Fine and Dandy Like Sour Candy By Elizabeth Kurita
An Internship Experience: Breaking Out of my Comfort Zone By Tomomi Park
Mingling with the OC By Wandile Mkhulise
Gorgonzola Cheese By Chester Ong

This issue includes the following titles

We are Not Alone By Emily Frausto
Peace Gala is...A Milestone in the University's Future By Michael Strand and Nobue Amanuma
Insurgency Reemerges Among Iraqi Shia By Michael Bianco
Anti-War Protests Unite People for Peace By Jessica Bennett
Apollo's Ground
>>Artist of the Month: Giuliana Schroeder
>>"Comidas que Describen Nuestra Relación" By Malena Baizan
>>"An Ode to the Arrogant" By David Witkowski
Spoken Sustenance: From Abuela's Cocina to the Soka Kitchen By Yuko Matsumoto
A Pocket of Green in Orange County By Jennifer Numagami
Gorgonzola Cheese By Chester Ong
Fine and Dandy Like Sour Candy By Elizabeth Kurita
Founder's Corner By Dr. Daisaku Ikeda

This issue includes the following titles

A Victorious Life By Emily Frausto
Founder's Corner By Dr. Daisaku Ikeda
Schwarzenegger's Political Future Uncertain After Referendum Defeat By Michael Bianco
South Asian Quake: Will it Encourage Indo-Pakistani Peace? By Jessica Bennett
The Two Faces of Ecotourism By Giuliana Schroeder
Founder's Message to the 5th SUA, Aliso Viejo Student Festival By Dr. Daisaku Ikeda
PBRC Expands Role on SUA-AV Campus By Michael Strand
In Search for the Meaning of Soka Education By David Witkowski
Fine and Dandy Like Sour Candy By Elizabeth Kurita
Gorgonzola Cheese By Chester Ong

This issue includes the following titles

Letter from the Editor By Emily Frausto
Founder's Corner By Dr. Daisaku Ikeda
SUA Faculty Tenure By David Witkowski
Understanding Plamegate: The Answers are Long Overdue By Michael Bianco
Amnesty International's 2005 Western Regional Conference By Masako Delalieu and Jacqueline Mills
Apollo's Ground
>>Artist of the Month: Atsushi "Cookie" Kukita
Revelations in New Orleans By Jessica Bennett
Debate: Eco-terrorists or Eco-defenders? By Giuliana Schroeder and Jennifer Numagami
Fine and Dandy Like Sour Candy By Elizabeth Kurita
Gorgonzola Cheese By Chester Ong