LibGuides: Life Science: Web Sites

Banner

Evaluating Sources

All sources, but especially online ones, should be evaluated in terms of authority (the author's expertise and/or experience), purpose (the intent of the work), publisher (their publication requirements and intent), relevance (how closely it relates to your topic and the scope of coverage), date (the age of the information), and documentation (resources used for the source). For more information on how to critically evaluate sources, see our Evaluating Sources information guide.

Open Education Resources - FREE

Data & Statistics by Center for Disease Control
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention is the nation’s premier public health agency, working to ensure healthy people in a healthy world.
Data & Statistics by WHO
World Health Organization (WHO) is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It provides leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends.
DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is a service that provides access to quality controlled Open Access Journals. The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use an appropriate quality control system, and it will not be limited to particular languages or subject areas. Another goal is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact.
Inter-Research Science Center
International, rigorously peer-reviewed scientific publications, copy-edited and typeset by a team of experts.
Medline Plus
Produced by the National Library of Medicine, Medline Plus brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information.
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
PubMed Central
PMC is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

Life Science: Web Sites

Banner

Open Education Resources - FREE

Websites