arXIV: Similar to DOI/PMID, this is an identifier assigned to articles by arXiv which is an open-access repository (not a journal!)
Bibliographic management tools: also known as citation management tools (or software), are web-based citation tools that gather, organize, and store your research as well as generate citations. You can create formatted reference lists in a variety of publishing styles. The most popular citation managers are Zotero, Mendeley, and EndNote, which offer freemium memberships (free basic membership levels up to paid subscription levels).
Citation management tools: also known as bibliographic management tools (or software), are web-based citation tools that gather, organize, and store your research as well as generate citations. You can create formatted reference lists in a variety of publishing styles. The most popular citation managers are Zotero, Mendeley, and EndNote, which offer freemium memberships (free basic membership levels up to paid subscription levels).
Child File: Zotero calls file attachments (PDF, notes, snapshots, etc.) connected to a sources "child files." The overall file is called a "parent file." To see the child files, select the grey triangle next to the parent file in your library to open the dropdown list. Zotero will automatically recognize file attachments and will indicate any with a blue dot in the attachments column of your Library.
Collection: Collections are basically folders where you can organize certain files. Unlike the Library, when you select a Collection, you will only see the files you have organized there. We recommend creating Collections for each course, assignment, or research project.
Connector: Zotero refers to its browser extensions as Connectors. Zotero currently offers connectors for Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge.
Desktop application: This is the main Zotero component, the software on your device that hosts your Library. Zotero currently offers software for Mac, Windows, Linus 23-bit and Linux-64 bit.
DOI: Stands for Digital Object Identifier and is a type of identifier given to journal articles or data sets. It is commonly found under header information on a journal article page or at the end of a citation.
Groups: Zotero allows you to create groups with classmates or research partners to collaborate on Group Libraries and Collections. Groups are created and managed through the Web Account. All participants will need to create a web account. Like the personal library, Group libraries and Collections can be synced to devices for offline access.
Identifier: a sequence of characters used to refer to and locate a type of source in a publication or database. Identifiers can often serve like a URL when searching for a specific resource online outside of a database. Common identifiers you may encounter in scholarly research are ISBN, DOI, PMID, and arXIV.
ISBN: Stands for International Standard Book Number and is a type of identifier for the unique commercial codes given to books. An ISBN usually begin with "978" and can be found on the internal copyright page or next to the cover's barcode.
Library: Your library is the total list of all source files you have saved. It can be accessed via your desktop application or from your web account.
Parent File: Zotero calls sources with file attachments "parent files" and the attachments "child files." The parent file will contain the metadata (bibliographic information) about your source, which can be seen in the metadata pane on the right-hand side. In your library, parent files are marked by a grey triangle. Select the grey triangle to see all child files attached to a source. Zotero will automatically recognize file attachments and will indicate any with a blue dot in the attachments column of your Library.
PMID: Stands for PubMed Identifier and is a type of identifier. Similar to the DOI, this is assigned to articles and data sets by PubMed (an engine maintained by the National Institute of Health).
Snapshot: This refers to information Zotero captures on how and when you accessed an online resource (e.g. URL, date accessed, etc.)
Sub-Collection: Sub-collections are basically sub-folders. We recommend creating Sub-collections for specific, yet related assignments within a course or components of a research project such as a proposal or literature review.
URL: Stands for Uniform Resource Locator and is a type of identifier. It is more commonly known as the "web address."
Web Account: In addition to the desktop application, Zotero allows you to create a free, online account to provide another means of access to your library. You can access this library from any other device with internet, sync your libraries if you have the desktop application installed on multiple devices, and create group collections to collaborate with other Zotero users on group assignments or research.