Works by the SUA Alumni: Books & Book Chapters

Heto, Paa-Kwesi (GS Class of 2016). "Re-examining commerce’s impact on peace." In Political process: New perspectives on the Virginia and Bloomington Schools, 205 - 233. Edited by Donald Boudreaux, Christopher J. Coyne, and Brian Kogelmann. Lanham, MD: Lexington Books, 2025.
(Full-text available through ILL)

Heto, Paa-Kwesi (GS Class of 2016). "Africa’s geoeconomics and economic statecraft." In The Oxford handbook on geoeconomics and economic statecraft. Edited by Vinod K. Aggarwal and Tai Ming Cheung. Oxford University Press, 2024.
(Full-text available through ILL)

Shintaku, Kentaro (Class of 2023) and Tomoko Takahashi. “Enhancing Global Citizenship Education in Japan’s K-12 Curriculum: Exploring Lessons and Opportunities.” In The Asian Conference on Education & International Development 2024 Official Conference Proceedings, June 2024.

Yamamoto, Kazumi (Class of 2023) and Tomoko Takahashi. “Altruism as a Manifestation of Global Citizenship: Global Citizenship Education in the Age of COVID-19.” In The Asian Conference on Education & International Development 2024 Official Conference Proceedings, June 2024.

Bridges, Jessica (GS Class of 2016). "Challenges and Possibilities of Value-Creating Education in Cuba." In Value-Creating Education: Teachers’ Perceptions and Practice. Edited by Emiliano Bosio and Maria Guajardo. New York: Routledge, 2024.

Høffding, Simon (Class of 2008) and Gonzalo Obelleiro (Class of 2005). "The Phenomenology of Reflection and Expertise in Value-Creating Education" In Value-Creating Education: Teachers’ Perceptions and Practice. Edited by Emiliano Bosio and Maria Guajardo. New York: Routledge, 2024.

Ikeda, Anna (Class of 2006) and Alexandra Goossens-Ishii. "A Value-Creating Approach to Education for Sustainable Development." In Value-Creating Education: Teachers’ Perceptions and Practice. Edited by Emiliano Bosio and Maria Guajardo. New York: Routledge, 2024.

Mokuria, Vicki G. (GS Class of 2016) and Alankrita Chhikara (Class of 2009 & GS Class of 2016). "Value-Creating Educators Embodying “Lotus Flowers": A Narrative Study of Community-Based Teacher Education in Brazil." In Value-Creating Education: Teachers’ Perceptions and Practice. Edited by Emiliano Bosio and Maria Guajardo. New York: Routledge, 2024.

Rocha, Celia (Class of 2006). "Representations of Motherhood in Contemporary Art." In An Artist and a Mother. Edited by Tara Carpenter, Heidi Moller Somsen, and Kaylan Buteyn. Ontario, Canada: Demeter Press, 2023.

Barter, Shane J. and Mahesh Kushwaha (Class of 2019). "Civil War and Peace in the Asia Pacific." In The Politics of the Asia-Pacific: Triumphs, Challenges, and Threats, 212-225. Edited by Mark S. Williams. Toronto, Canada: University of Toronto Press, 2022.

Heto, Paa-Kwesi (GS Class of 2016). "Student engagement: A vehicle for preventing high school dropout in the coastal urban regions of Guyana." In Globalization and Education: Teaching, Learning and Leading in the World Schoolhouse. Edited by Jeffrey S. Brooks, Anthony H. Normore, Melanie C. Brooks, and Nicola Sum. Charlotte, NC: Information Age Publishing, Inc., 2022.

Heto, Paa-Kwesi (GS Class of 2016). "Global supply chains and great power competition in Africa." In Geopolitics, supply chains, and the international relations of East Asia. Edited by Etel Solingen. Cambridge University Press. 2021.
(Full-text available through ILL)

Mills, Jacqueline M. (Class of 2008), and Elizabeth A. Stier. "Human papillomavirus infection of the cervix: relative risk association of 15 common angogenital subtypes." In 50 Studies Every Obstetrician Gynecologist Should Know. Edited by Constance Liu, Noah Rindos, Scott Shainker. New York: Oxford University Press, 2021.

Heto, Paa-Kwesi (GS Class of 2016), Masumi Hashimoto Odari, and Wyse Sunu. "Different schools, different cultures." In Handbook on promoting social justice in education, 583-608. Edited by Rosemary Papa. Cham, Switzerland: Springer, 2020.

Kavya, Pavitra (Class of 2009) and Michael W. Kramer. "The Impact of Maternity Leave Advice within the Academy on Work-Life Balance of Women Faculty and Administrators." In Developing Women Leaders in the Academy through Enhanced Communication Strategies. Edited by Jayne Cubbage. Minneapolis, MN: Lexington Books, 2020.
(Full-text available through ILL)

Barter, Shane J., and Amanda Boralessa (Class of 2018). “Southeast Asia: Unity in ASEAN”. In Routledge Handbook of Politics in Asia. Edited by Shiping Hua. New York: Routledge, 2018.

Ogata, Tetsushi (Class of 2005). "Who is in Charge? Emerging National and Regional Strategies for Prevention." In Preventing Mass Atrocities: Policies and Practices, 176-186. Edited by Barbara Harff and Ted Robert Gurr. New York: Routledge, 2018

Obelleiro, Gonzalo (Class of 2005). "Values, Dissonance, and the Creation of Shared Meaning." In Peacebuilding through Dialogue: Education, Human Transformation, and Conflict Resolution, 135-154. Edited by Peter N. Stearns. Fairfax, VA: George Mason University Press, 2018.
Developed in association with the Ikeda Center for Peace, Learning, and Dialogue

Heto, Paa-Kwesi (GS Class of 2016). "What does it mean to be a value-creating (Soka) leader?" In Value creating education in Kenya: Building a humane society. Edited by Henry Indangasi, Anna P. Mwangi, and Masumi Odari. Nairobi: Kenya Literature Bureau, 2018.

Obelleiro, Gonzalo (Class of 2005). “Cosmopolitanism and Education.” In Macmillan Interdisciplinary Handbooks: Philosophy: Education. Edited by Bryan Warnick. Farmington Hills, Michigan: Macmillan Reference USA, a part of Gale, Cengage Learning, 2017.

Ishikawa, Tomohito (GS Class of 2000). “Cognition Hypothesis (CH).” In The Routledge Encyclopedia of Second Language Acquisition. Edited by Peter Robinson. New York: Routledge, 2013.

Bartoli, Andrea, and Tetsushi Ogata (Class of 2005). “Preventing Genocide: Towards Systematic Engagement by States.” In Civilians and Modern War: Armed Conflict and the Ideology of Violence, 300-316. Edited by Daniel Rothbart, Karina V. Korostelina and Mohammed D. Cherkaouil. New York: Routledge, 2012.

Ishikawa, Tomohito (GS Class of 2000). “The Effect of Manipulating Task Complexity along the [±Here-and-Now] Dimension on L2 Written Narrative Discourse.” In Investigating Tasks in Formal Language Learning. Edited by María del Pilar García Mayo. Buffalo: Multilingual Matters, 2007.

Hagimoto, Koichi (Class of 2005), and Ignacio López-Calvo. MáS Allá Del Haiku: Antología de Autores Nikkei Latinoamericanos Primera edición. Lima, Perú: Asociacion Peruano Japonesa, Fondo Editorial, 2024.

Sepúlveda, Monserrat (Class of 2013). ¡Hasta mi mamá!. Santiago de Chile: Libros Del Amanecer Y Compañía Limitada, 2023.

Hagimoto, Koichi (Class of 2005). Samurai in the Land of the Gaucho: Transpacific Modernity and Nikkei Literature in Argentina. Vanderbilt Chapel Hill, North Carolina: University Press, 2023.

Mafi, Tahereh (Haddadi) (Class of 2009). These Infinite Threads. New York: HarperCollins, 2023.

Mafi, Tahereh (Haddadi) (Class of 2009). Believe Me. New York: HarperCollins, 2021.

Mafi, Tahereh (Haddadi) (Class of 2009). An Emotion of Great Delight. New York: HarperCollins, 2021.

Mafi, Tahereh (Haddadi) (Class of 2009). Imagine Me. New York: HarperCollins, 2020.

"Special Issue: Soka approaches in education." In Journal of Interdisciplinary Studies in Education 9, no. SI. (2020). Edited by Paa-Kwesi Heto (GS Class of 2016) and Henry Indangasi.

Kishida, Yuka Hiruma (Class of 2006). Kenkoku University and the Experience of Pan-Asianism: Education in the Japanese Empire. London: Bloomsbury Academic, 2019.

Mafi, Tahereh (Haddadi) (Class of 2009). Defy Me. New York: HarperCollins, 2019.

Mafi, Tahereh (Haddadi) (Class of 2009). A Very Large Expanse of Sea. New York: HarperCollins, 2019.

Høffding, Simon (Class of 2008). A Phenomenology of Musical Absorption. Cham, Switzerland: Palgrave Macmillan, 2018.

Shoro, Natasha, and Anushe Shoro (Class of 2012). The Essence of Being: Natasha Shoro. Lahore: Topical Printers, 2018.

Family Portraits in Global Perspectives : An Oral History Collection, University Students Explore Their Roots. Edited by Soledad Quartucci. San Bernardino: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform, 2018.
A book of essays written by SUA students as part of their writing class coursework.

Mafi, Tahereh (Haddadi) (Class of 2009). Restore Me. New York: HarperCollins Publishers, 2018.

Mafi, Tahereh (Haddadi) (Class of 2009). Whichwood. New York: Dutton Children’s, 2017.

Trans-Pacific Encounters. Edited by Koichi Hagimoto (Class of 2005) UK: Cambridge Scholars Publishing, 2016.

Mafi, Tahereh (Haddadi) (Class of 2009). Furthermore. New York: Dutton Children’s, 2016.

Høffding, Simon (Class of 2008). “A Phenomenology of Expert Musicianship.” PhD diss., Faculty of Humanities, University of Copenhagen, 2015.

Mafi, Tahereh (Haddadi) (Class of 2009). Unite Me. New York: HarperCollins Publishers, 2014.

Mafi, Tahereh (Haddadi) (Class of 2009). Ignite Me. New York: HarperCollins Publishers, 2014.

Gauer, Nathan (Class of 2005). Songs to Make the Desert Bear Fruit : A Memoir. Illustrated by Gonzalo Obelleiro (Class of 2005). New York: Cosmopolitan Tongues Press, 2014.

Hicklin, Nathaniel, and Hilary Hazzard. The Adventures of Israel St. James. Part I: Archimedes’ Insight. First edition. Minneapolis, MN: Sic Semper Serpent, 2014.
Michael Strand (Class of 2008) formed the publishing company Sic Semper Serpent, which printed this book.

Hagimoto, Koichi (Class of 2005). Between Empires: Martí, Rizal, and the Intercolonial Alliance. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2013.

Education and Disadvantaged Children and Young People: Education as a Humanitarian Response. Edited by Mitsuko Matsumoto (Class of 2005). London: Bloomsbury Academic, 2013.

Mafi, Tahereh (Haddadi) (Class of 2009). Unravel Me. New York: HarperCollins Publishers, 2013.

Hicklin, Nathaniel, Amanda Dorman, and Kristy Tejeda The Spontaneous Combustion. Volume I. Second edition. Minneapolis, MN: Sic Semper Serpent, 2014.
Michael Strand (Class of 2008) formed the publishing company Sic Semper Serpent, which printed this book.

Mafi, Tahereh (Haddadi) (Class of 2009). Shatter Me. New York: HarperCollins Publishers, 2011.

Oda, Megumi (Class of 2005 & GS Class of 2006). Thinking Critically about Teaching Critical Thinking in the ESL/EFL Classroom: Toward an Integrative Definition of Critical Thinking between East and West: A Master’s Thesis. Saarbrücken, Germany: LAP LAMBERT Academic Publishing, 2010.

Cherubini, Natalia (Class of 2007). Dudas penas, mis anti-poemas. Caracas, Venezuela: Adlink Communications, 2004.

Mishima, Masakazu (GS Class of 2003). Challenging the Native Speakerism : Teaching English as a Global Language in Japan. Saarbrücken, Germany: VDM Verlag Dr. Müller, 2009.

Emily Aoyama (Class of 2006). 青空を見上げて―9・11のテロで逝った父へ [Looking up at the blue sky: To my father who was beaten by 9/11 terrorism]. Tōkyō: Ushio Shuppansha, 2003.