Web Sites

Evaluating Sources

All sources, but especially online ones, should be evaluated in terms of authority (the author's expertise and/or experience), purpose (the intent of the work), publisher (their publication requirements and intent), relevance (how closely it relates to your topic and the scope of coverage), date (the age of the information), and documentation (resources used for the source). For more information on how to critically evaluate sources, see our Evaluating Sources information guide.

Asia Society
Asian Americans Then and Now: Linking Past to Present.
Calisphere: a World of Primary Resources
Calisphere is your gateway to California's remarkable digital collections, with access to unique and historically important artifacts--nearly two million digital primary resource items--from over 300 cultural heritage organizations, including public libraries, archives, museums, historical societies, and many more throughout the state.
Library of Congress
Asian Division - Digital Collections
Online Archive of California
The Online Archive of California (OAC) provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 200 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses.
Pew Research Center
Asian Americans: A Diverse and Growing Population.

University Collections

Stanford Library - East Asia Library
Stanford University - Chinese Railroad Workers Project
The Chinese Railroad Workers in North America Project at Stanford (CRRW) seeks to give a voice to the Chinese migrants whose labor on the Transcontinental Railroad helped to shape the physical and social landscape of the American West.
Stanford University - Hoji Shinbun Digital Collection
The Hoji Shinbun Digital Collection is currently the world’s largest online archive of open-access, full image Japanese American and other overseas Japanese newspapers in Asia and South America.
UC Berkeley - The Japanese American Evacuation and Resettlement
The Bancroft Library's documentation of the Japanese American experience during World War II includes over 250,000 pages from an extensive collection of manuscripts and photographs. Access to this material is provided through the Online Archive of California and Calisphere websites.
Asian American and Asian Diaspora Studies
List of digital resources - UC Berkeley Library Guide
UC Irvine - Southeast Asian Archive
The scope of the collection is limited to documenting the diasporic peoples from Vietnam, Cambodia, and Laos including self-identified Khmer Americans, Hmong Americans, Laotian Americans, Yao (Iu Mien) Americans, and ethnic and cultural minorities. We do not collect materials about the home countries. We also do not collect materials about all Southeast Asian immigrants (e.g., Thailand, Malaysia, Burma, Indonesia, the Philippines or Singapore).
UCLA - East Asian Library
The Richard C. Rudolph East Asian Library (EAL) is the tenth largest East Asian Library in North America and the largest one in Southern California. As of June 30, 2013, the grand total of materials held is 764,737 volumes/items, which includes monographs, journals, microforms, audio-visual materials, and electronic books. Of that total, 367,496 volumes/items are in Chinese, 278,958 are in Japanese, and 62,756 are in Korean.
Yale University Library - South Asian Resources
Links to Open Access Resources

PACBASIN 100: Intro to the Pacific Basin - Jones: Web Sites

Web Sites

University Collections