This is the "Collections" page of the "About Us" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

About Us  

General information about the Ikeda Library
Last Updated: Aug 8, 2014 URL: http://libguides.soka.edu/about Print Guide RSS Updates

Collections Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Overview

Library Collections

  • Print Books: 91,029 volumes                                                                     
  • Electronic Books: 247,869 volumes                                                            
  • Print Periodicals: 93 current subscription; 261 back issues                       
  • Electronic Periodicals: 33,052                                                                      
  • VHS/DVDs (By title) (By production year): 3,623                                       
  • Music CDs: 446                                                                                             
  • SUA BA Capstones & MA Theses: 771 titles                                                
  • Human Rights Lecture Videos: 48 titles                                                         
  • ERIC documents in paper or microfiche: 172 volumes
 

Circulating and Reference Collection

Relevance to the curricula is an important selection criterion. The highest priority is given to the materials that are essential in supporting the programs offered at SUA. The library seeks to provide an international and global focus in order to support the curricula of all disciplines taught at SUA.

  • Language: Primarily English; Titles in non-English languages taught at the university are selectively included.
  • Date of Publication: Current titles (published within the past five years) are preferred in most areas. Seminal or classic titles are selectively included.
  • Geographic Area: Pacific Rim focus, but titles from other geographic areas are collected when general in nature or pertinent to the curricula.
  • Other factors considered are: Reliability and credibility; Intellectual Level; Relationship to the existing collection in terms of creating and preserving balance of viewpoints in subjects covered; Relationship to other formats containing comparable information; Cost; and Reviews when available and appropriate.

The books in circulation collection are located on the 3rd floor, and the reference books can be found on the 2nd floor.

 

Young Adult Collection

The Young Adult Collection contains a variety of books on a number of topics, generally at a secondary school reading level. The titles in this collection include reference books and illustrated guides as well as popular or award-winning fiction.  Students can use the titles in this collection as starting points for research projects on topics in the Social Sciences or Humanities, or as support materials to help build reading speed, comprehension, and cultural knowledge.  The collection can be found on the 1st floor.    

 

Children's Collection

The Children’s Collection contains books at an elementary reading level. Titles in English include classic, popular, and award-winning children’s books. The collection also contains books representing all four of the languages taught at Soka: Chinese, French, Japanese, and Spanish. The collection is constantly growing, and titles are chosen that will support students in their reading, vocabulary, and cultural development of the target language. This collection can be found on the 1st floor.

 

Leisure Reading Collection

The Leisure Reading Collection contains popular mass market paperbacks in English and in the four languages taught at Soka: Chinese, French, Japanese, and Spanish. The collection is added to regularly, and can be found on the 2nd floor of the library.

 

Databases & E-journal Packages

As the users’ expectations grow, publishers offer increasingly sophisticated and effective online databases to libraries. They provide easy access to peer-reviewed journal articles and electronic books. The library is actively reviewing new databases to subscribe to.

If journal articles are available in full text through a reliable aggregator, electronic access is preferred. If the cost of both online and print journal subscription is significantly higher than one-format subscription, the library would choose the online-only subscription option.

 

Media Collection (DVD, VHS, and CD)

The feature film collection includes works that contribute to the teaching of all disciplines in the university curricula. A preference is given to titles that are interdisciplinary in nature and projected to be used frequently. Also, titles that present distinctive social, political, historical or economic themes or viewpoints are collected. Popular feature films are purchased upon the recommendation of faculty or librarians with the assurance that they will be used for research or instruction.

 

Founders' Collection

The Founders’ Collection contains books written by the founders of Soka Education: Tsunesaburō Makiguchi, Jōsei Toda, and Daisaku Ikeda. The collection includes older works and newer titles, as well as editions translated into English or other languages. Titles by the founders are actively added to this collection, which is located on the 1st floor of the library.

 

Ikeda Collection

The Ikeda Collection contains books on the Social Sciences donated to Ikeda Library by our founder, Daisaku Ikeda, in 2001. The collection originally contained 3,000 books and grew to 4,000 with a second donation in 2002. The majority of the titles are in Japanese and written by recognized scholars, educators, and intellectuals in their respective fields. Most of the titles in the collection are available for check out and can be found on the 1st floor, but those that have been identified as fragile are kept in the Special Collection room. To learn more about this collection, please see: Ikeda Collection.

 

Archive Collection

The Archive Collection contains materials related to Soka University of America and its students, staff, and faculty. The collection is being actively developed and expanded by the library and includes artifacts such as commencement speeches and videos, yearbooks, student newspapers, course catalogs, works published by SUA employees, and other materials which may have historical significance. These materials are for library use only. Please speak to a librarian about accessing these materials. 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip