Skip to Main Content

LRN CLSTR: Happiness: Articles

Banner

Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed journals. In addition, this database offers monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
It is a digital library of academic journals and preserves the content for future generations. SUA subscribes to the entire JSTOR Collections (2,870+ journal titles).

JSTOR is part of ITHAKA, a not-for-profit organization that also includes Ithaka S+R and Portico.
ProQuest One Academic This link opens in a new window
With ProQuest One Academic, four core multi-disciplinary products – ProQuest Central, Academic Complete, Academic Video Online and ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global – are now available and cross-searchable on the same user-friendly, responsive, award-winning ProQuest platform.
Psychology Database This link opens in a new window
Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
Sociology Database This link opens in a new window
Sociology Database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology and population studies.

New York Times Access

Free subscription to the NYT

1.Start here to create an account

2.Click: New York Times

3.Click: Create Account

4.Use Soka email & password

5.Click: Create Account

6.Select ”Student" & grad year

*Needs to be renewed each year*

How to Read a Scholarly Journal Article

Articles

Cultural values and changes in happiness in 78 countries during the COVID-19 pandemic: An analysis of data from the World Happiness Reports
By Ravi Philip Rajkumar in Frontiers in Psychology (2023)
Click on "View PDF" to open the article.
Culture and Happiness
By Dezhu Ye, et al. in Social Indicators Research (2015).
A Dark Side of Happiness? How, When, and Why Happiness Is Not Always Good
By June Gruber, et al. in Perspectives on Psychological Science (2011).
Dynamic spread of happiness in a large social network: longitudinal analysis over 20 years in the Framingham Heart Study
By James H. Fowler and Nicholas A. Christakis in British Medical Journal (2008).
From the Happiness of Virtue to the Virtue of Happiness: 400 B.C.-A.D. 1789
By Darrin McMahon in Daedalus (2004).
Happiness: Does Culture Matter?
By Carola Hommerich and Susanne Klien in International Journal of Wellbeing (2012).
Happiness around the World: A Combined Etic-Emic Approach across 63 Countries
By G. Lee Gardiner, et al. in PLoS ONE (2020).
Happiness is the Wrong Metric
By Amitai Etzioni in Society (2016).
Measuring Happiness in the Social Sciences: An overview
By Gabriela Delsignore, et al. in Journal of Sociology (2021).
A Sociology for Happiness: Beyond Western versus Non-Western Perspectives
By Kenji Kosaki in Sociological Bulletin (2007).
Will raising the incomes of all increase the happiness of all?
By Richard A. Easterlin in Journal of Economic Behavior and Organization (1995).

Scholarly Journals vs. Popular Periodicals

Media Bias Chart

Interactive Media Bias Chart - Ad Fontes Media
Click here to access the interactive chart to get more information about specific sources.