Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Latin American Studies
These Reference books are a good place to start your research in Latin American Studies. The articles will impart the background you need to tackle the scholarly articles and books you will be using for your research and are written by experts in their fields. Here you will find the history, controversies, people and places that define your topic. Use these articles as a jumping off space. Find keywords and concepts to use in your database searching.
Handbooks and Encyclopedias
An Atlas and Survey of Latin American History by
Publication Date: 2006-10-01
Presents the geography, the demography, and the political, social, and economic history of Latin America. Provides a topical overview of Latin American development from earliest times to the present day, bringing to light patterns of continuity and change.
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Latin America and the Caribbean by
Call Number: F1406 .C36 1992
Publication Date: 1992-09-25
The Encyclopedia examines both urgent contemporary issues such as economic and population growth, trade and international debt, tourism and the environment, and the longer term factors that have molded Latin America as we find it today: the native flora and fauna, the emergence of early civilizations in Mexico and Peru, imperial domination over three centuries by Spain and Portugal, the struggle for independence in the nineteenth century, and then the political turbulence of the twentieth.
Enciclopedia de Mexico by
Call Number: F1204 .E46 2000
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
This 14 volume encyclopedia set is written and published in Mexico, in the Spanish language. It covers cultural as well as historical and political topics.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Cultures by
Call Number: F1406 .E515 2000
Publication Date: 2001-01-16
This three-volume Encyclopedia offers more than 4000 entries on all aspects of the contemporary cultures of Latin America and the Caribbean. More than 40 regions discussed and a time-span of 1920 to the present day. Culture is broadly defined to include food, sport, religion, television, transport, alongside architecture, dance, film, literature, music and sculpture.
Encyclopedia of Latin America by
Call Number: F1406 .E5155 2010
Publication Date: 2010-05-01
This four-volume set covers the history and culture of Central America, South America, and the Caribbean from early settlements to the present day. Each volume focuses on a specific time period in the area's development.
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture by
Publication Date: 2008-05-09
Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.
Encyclopedia of Latin American Politics by
Call Number: F1410 .E56 2002
Publication Date: 2002-06-30
Illustrated with maps and photographs, this volume covers the current and past political development of Puerto Rico and the 20 independent republics of Central and South America and the Caribbean. Although coverage begins with the independence movements of the late 18th century, the book focuses mainly on the 20th century.
Encyclopedia of U. S.-Latin American Relations by
Publication Date: 2012-01-31
Details the political, economic, and military interconnections between the United States and the countries of Latin America, including Mexico and the nations in Central America, the Caribbean, and South America.
Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450 by
Publication Date: 2006-08-25
Provides students and researchers with a much-needed, comprehensive resource on the subject of colonialism and expansion. From a global perspective, the set traces many facets of colonial growth and imperialism, and much more.
Latin America 2014-2015 by
Call Number: D13.5.L29 B83 2014
Publication Date: 2014-08-20
A comprehensive, timely, and entertaining account of the political, cultural, and economic dynamics of more than thirty discrete countries of the Western Hemisphere, this book is updated each year, providing students with the most recent information possible. The information is presented in an objective, balanced, non-ideological context, allowing the readers to formulate their own opinions. From Publisher
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures by
Call Number: F1218.6 .O95 2001
Publication Date: 2001-06-07
Presenting the most up-to-date coverage on our knowledge of this society, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures is the first comprehensive and comparative reference source to chronicle Pre-Hispanic, Colonial, and modern Mesoamerica.
The Oxford Handbook of Latin American History by
Call Number: F1410 .O95 2011
Publication Date: 2010-11-05
The decades since the 1980s have witnessed an unprecedented surge in research about Latin The decades since the 1980s have witnessed an unprecedented surge in research about Latin American history. This much-needed volume brings together original essays by renowned scholars to provide the first comprehensive assessment of this burgeoning literature.
Reference for Literature, Film and Music
Publication Date: 2008-02-01
Combines narrative historical chapters with a reference section covering the nation's most important cultural figures, places, and events.
Publication Date: 2007-09-01
Covers Brazil's history, the evolution of its society and culture, and the variety of peoples and landscapes within its borders.
Costa Rica by
Publication Date: 2008-02-21
Examines the country's development, unique features, and the challenges Costa Ricans face in the 21st century.
Publication Date: 2007-10-03
Provides a tour of the island of Cuba's historical, political, economic, cultural, and social development from the pre-Columbian period to the present.
Publication Date: 2008-07-21
Provides an introduction to the history, politics, and society of one of Latin America's most enigmatic and culturally diverse countries
The Borderlands by
Publication Date: 2008-01-30
Provides numerous essay entries covering U.S.-Mexico border history, culture, and politics