LibGuides: SUA Faculty Publications: New Publications

Books and Book Chapters

"The Social Nature of the Human Being: A Metaphysical Foundation for Akan Ethics and Western, African and the Primacy of Duty in Akan Ethics and Chinese Confucian Philosophy"
Allinson, Robert E. "The Social Nature of the Human Being: A Metaphysical Foundation for Akan Ethics and Western, African and the Primacy of Duty in Akan Ethics and Chinese Confucian Philosophy." In Contemporary Debates in African and Western Philosophy: Analytic and Intercultural Approaches. Edited by Whitaker Monique and Jonathan O. Chimakonam. London: Bloomsbury Academic, 2025.
(Full-text available through ILL)
"Re-examining commerce’s impact on peace"
Heto, Paa-Kwesi. "Re-examining commerce’s impact on peace." In Political process: New perspectives on the Virginia and Bloomington Schools, 205 - 233. Edited by Donald Boudreaux, Christopher J. Coyne, and Brian Kogelmann. Lanham, MD: Lexington Books, 2025.
(Full-text available through ILL)
"Casas de desolvido. Cronotopos diaspóricos en la obra de tres fotógrafas venezolanas"
Cardona, Elena. "Casas de desolvido. Cronotopos diaspóricos en la obra de tres fotógrafas venezolanas." In Mujer, voz y representación en fotografía y materiales visuales en el mundo hispanohablante, 165-199. Edited by Edurne Beltrán de Heredia. Argus-a, 2025.
"A Conversation with Stephanie Saulter: Adaptation and Resilience in the Multicultural Sci-Fi City”
Call Number: Coming Soon

Vivian, David A. "A Conversation with Stephanie Saulter: Adaptation and Resilience in the Multicultural Sci-Fi City.” In Urban Discourses of Crisis, Resilience, and Resistance: Cities Under Stress . Edited by Eric Prieto, Liam Lanigan, and Anni Lappela. Palgrave Macmillan, 2025.
"Devotionalism in the Cultural and Social Spheres of India: Popular and Monastic Aspects of Hinduism in History"
Rao, Nalini. “Devotionalism in the Cultural and Social Spheres of India: Popular and Monastic Aspects of Hinduism in History.” In Handbook of Indian History, 323–36. Edited by Lavanya Vemsani. Singapore: Springer Nature Singapore, 2024
(Full-text available through ILL)
"Africa’s geoeconomics and economic statecraft"
Heto, Paa-Kwesi. "Africa’s geoeconomics and economic statecraft." In The Oxford handbook on geoeconomics and economic statecraft. Edited by Vinod K. Aggarwal and Tai Ming Cheung. Oxford University Press, 2024.
(Full-text available through ILL)
Song of Arirang: The Story of a Korean Revolutionary in China
Call Number: HX415.5.A8 K554 2022

Snow, Helen Foster, and San Gim. Song of Arirang: The Story of a Korean Revolutionary in China. Edited and annotated by George O. Totten III. and Dongyoun Hwang. Los Angeles, CA: Kaya Press, 2024.
"Enhancing Global Citizenship Education in Japan’s K-12 Curriculum: Exploring Lessons and Opportunities"
Shintaku, Kentaro and Tomoko Takahashi. “Enhancing Global Citizenship Education in Japan’s K-12 Curriculum: Exploring Lessons and Opportunities.” In The Asian Conference on Education & International Development 2024 Official Conference Proceedings, June 2024.
"Altruism as a Manifestation of Global Citizenship: Global Citizenship Education in the Age of COVID-19"
Yamamoto, Kazumi and Tomoko Takahashi. “Altruism as a Manifestation of Global Citizenship: Global Citizenship Education in the Age of COVID-19.” In The Asian Conference on Education & International Development 2024 Official Conference Proceedings, June 2024.
Moving Within Borders: Addressing the Potentials and Risks of Mass Migration in Developing Countries
Call Number: HB2160 .A73 2023

Ascher, William, and Shane J. Barter. Moving Within Borders: Addressing the Potentials and Risks of Mass Migration in Developing Countries. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2024.
“Beyond the Personal: Theorizing a Politics of Location in Composition Research”
Call Number: eBook

Kirsch, Gesa E., and Joy S. Ritchie. “Beyond the Personal: Theorizing a Politics of Location in Composition Research.” In Cross-Talk in Comp Theory: A Reader, 4th edition, 377-400. Edited by Kristin L. Arola and Victor Villanueva. National Council of Teachers of English, 2024.
"The Philosophy of Mao Zedong"
Call Number: Forthcoming

Allinson, Robert E. "The Philosophy of Mao Zedong." In Chinese Philosophy and Its Thinkers. Edited by Dawid Rogacz. London: Bloomsbury, 2024.
(Full-text available through ILL)
"The Place of Buddhist Economics in Overcoming Global Inequity"
Allinson, Robert E. "The Place of Buddhist Economics in Overcoming Global Inequity." In Place Based Approaches to Sustainability, Palgrave Series on Studies on Sustainable Business in Association with Future Earth. Edited by Del Baldo, Mara, Righini, and Maria-Gabriella Baldarelli. Cham, Switzerland: Palgrave Macmillan, 2024.
(Full-text available through ILL)

Other Publications

Katherine Perry, Soka University – The Mathematics of Hiding in Plain Sight (Podcast)
Perry, Katherine E. “Katherine Perry, Soka University - The Mathematics of Hiding in Plain Sight.” The Academic Minute (blog). May 19, 2025.
Sandrine Siméon, Soka University of America – The Ethics, Aesthetics and Accessibility of Live Theater on Film (Podcast)
Siméon, Sandrine. “Sandrine Siméon, Soka University of America - The Ethics, Aesthetics and Accessibility of Live Theater on Film.” The Academic Minute (blog). May 9, 2025.
Shane Barter, Soka University of America - Partial Sovereignty - Self-Government for Minority Nations (Podcast)
Barter, Shane. “Shane Barter, Soka University of America - Partial Sovereignty - Self-Government for Minority Nations.” The Academic Minute (blog). May 8, 2025.
Marie Nydam, Soka University of America – Tracking Introduced Species on Coral Reefs (Podcast)
Nydam, Marie L. “Marie Nydam, Soka University of America - Tracking Introduced Species on Coral Reefs.” The Academic Minute (blog). May 7, 2025.
Deike Peters, Soka University of America – Urban Nature in Need of Ecological Restor(y)ation (Podcast)
Peters, Deike. “Deike Peters, Soka University of America - Urban Nature in Need of Ecological Restor(y)Ation.” The Academic Minute (blog). May 6, 2025.
Ryan Allen, Soka University of America - Beyond the Numbers of Dead and Dying Colleges (Podcast)
Allen, Ryan M. “Ryan Allen, Soka University of America - Beyond the Numbers of Dead and Dying Colleges.” The Academic Minute (blog). May 5, 2025.
Korea’s Living National Treasures: A key topic omitted at the 2024 Korea-Africa Summit
Esiobu, Chika E. "Korea’s Living National Treasures: A key topic omitted at the 2024 Korea-Africa Summit." PanAfrican Review (2024, June 14).
Small-scale production of dry and condensed milk in East Africa for export to West Africa: Exploring potentials and strategies
Esiobu, Chika E. "Small-scale production of dry and condensed milk in East Africa for export to West Africa: Exploring potentials and strategies." PanAfrican Review (2024, May 19).
Ngũgĩ wa Thiong’o’s past and his son’s present trauma: The illusion of social media as community
Esiobu, Chika E. "Ngũgĩ wa Thiong’o’s past and his son’s present trauma: The illusion of social media as community." PanAfrican Review (2024, March 25).
Africa: 140 years after the scramble at Berlin
Esiobu, Chika E. "Africa: 140 years after the scramble at Berlin." PanAfrican Review (2024, March 11).
The disappearance of Africa’s indigenous cattle and the dangers of a single breed
Esiobu, Chika E. "The disappearance of Africa’s indigenous cattle and the dangers of a single breed." PanAfrican Review (2024, February 13).

Journal Articles

Interwoven Concepts of Ascetic, God, and Relic: An Iconographical Innovation During Pre‑Modern Period in South India
Rao, Nalini. "Interwoven Concepts of Ascetic, God, Relic: An Iconographical Innovation during Pre-Modern Period in South India." International Journal of Dharma Studies: Asian and Transnational Religion, Philosophy, and Ethics 8, (2025): 79–94.
A Crisis of Habitation in LA’s Last Wetland
Peters, Deike and Lutzker, Sam. “A Crisis of Habitation in LA’s Last Wetland.” Metropolitics (2025).
Common and rare variant analyses implicate late-infancy cerebellar development and immune genes in ADHD
Zhong, Yuanxin, Larry W. Baum, Justin D. Tubbs, Rui Ye, Lu Hua Chen, Tian Wu, Se-Fong Hung, Chun-Pan Tang, Ting-Pong Ho, Robert K. Moyzis, et al. “Common and Rare Variant Analyses Implicate Late-Infancy Cerebellar Development and Immune Genes in ADHD.” Journal of Neurodevelopmental Disorders 17, no. 1 (June 2025).
Conceptualizing rationality
Heto, Paa-Kwesi. “Conceptualizing Rationality." Review of John J. Mearsheimer and Sebastian Rosato's How states think: The rationality of foreign policy, Yale University Press. 2024, pp. 280. Political Psychology, (2025).
Warming Seawater Temperature and Nutrient Depletion Alters Microbial Community Composition on a Foundational Canopy Kelp Species
Molnar, Nichos B, Brooke L Weigel, Robin J. Fales, and Catherine A Pfister. “Warming Seawater Temperature and Nutrient Depletion Alters Microbial Community Composition on a Foundational Canopy Kelp Species.” Environmental Microbiology 27, no. 3 (March 2025): e70077.
Evaluating the Efficacy of Thiolating Agents for Biochar Surface Modification
Aduloju, Oluyinka, Arnav Pandey, Frieda Eivazi, Sougata Bardhan, and Zahra Afrasiabi. “Evaluating the Efficacy of Thiolating Agents for Biochar Surface Modification.” Environments 12, no. 3 (2025): 84.
Latin Americans Confront the Dynamic Essence of Asylum: The More Things Change, the More they Stay the Same
England, Sarah, and Alfonso Gonzales Toribio. “Latin Americans Confront the Dynamic Essence of Asylum: The More Things Change, the More They Stay the Same.” Latin American Perspectives 52, no. 2 (March 2025): 4–20.
Racialized Dispossession and the Third Exile Honduran Garifuna Asylum Seekers
England, Sarah. “Racialized Dispossession and the Third Exile Honduran Garifuna Asylum Seekers.” Latin American Perspectives 52, no. 2 (March 2025): 43–62.
Introduction COVID-19 Coronavirus: Pandemic Politics in Latin America and Precarity and Health: Health as Asset, Health as Right
Crowder-Taraborrelli, Tomás, Alexander Scott, Kristi M. Wilson, and Marina Gold. “Introduction COVID-19 Coronavirus: Pandemic Politics in Latin America and Precarity and Health: Health as Asset, Health as Right.” Latin American Perspectives 52, no. 1 (2025): 5–12.
Waiting to be Processed: Bodies and Resistance in Pandemic Space-Time: The Facility: A Film by Seth Wessler (2020) and Grupo Performático Sur’s Trilogía pandémica (2021)
Wilson, Kristi M. “Waiting to Be Processed: Bodies and Resistance in Pandemic Space-Time: The Facility: A Film by Seth Wessler (2020) and Grupo Performático Sur’s Trilogía Pandémica (2021).” Latin American Perspectives 52, no. 1 (2025): 250–54.
From Commitment to Action: Assessing the Impact of New Mentorship Programs to Promote Equity in the Society for Music Perception and Cognition
Agrawal, Tanushree, Anja-Xiaoxing Cui, Miriam D. Lense, Gerardo Lopez, and Bre-Anna K. Owusu. “From Commitment to Action: Assessing the Impact of New Mentorship Programs to Promote Equity in the Society for Music Perception and Cognition.” Music Perception 41, no. 4 (April 2024): 233–39.
Identities of Women in Indian Art and History
Rao, Nalini. "Identities of Women in Indian Art and History." Monsoon: South Asian Studies Association Journal 2, no. 1 (2024): 6-23.
Paint cost spectrum of perfect k-ary trees
Mafunda, Sonwabile, Jonathan L. Merzel, Katherine E. Perry, and Anna Varvak. “Paint cost spectrum of perfect k-ary trees.” ArXiv:2403.19991 [Math], March 29, 2024.
Attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder and dopamine receptor D4 (DRD4) exon 3 variable number of tandem repeats (VNTR) 2-repeat allele
Baum, Larry, Chi Chiu Lee, Rui Ye, Yuanxin Zhong, Se Fong Hung, Chun Pan Tang, Ting Pong Ho, James M. Swanson, Robert K. Moyzis, et al. “Attention-Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder and Dopamine Receptor D4 (DRD4) Exon 3 Variable Number of Tandem Repeats (VNTR) 2-Repeat Allele.” Annals of Human Genetics 88, no. 5 (April 2024): 382–91.
(Mis)perception, institutions, humanism
Heto, Paa-Kwesi. "(Mis)perception, institutions, humanism." Review of Blair Sackett and Annette Lareau's We thought it would be heaven: Refugees in an unequal America (Oakland: University of California Press, 2023). Political Psychology, (2024).
Heterogeneity of nitrogen fixation in the mesopelagic zone of the South China Sea
Wu S, Wan XS, […], M. Robert Hamersley, et al. "Heterogeneity of nitrogen fixation in the mesopelagic zone of the South China Sea." Frontiers in Marine Science 11, (2024).
Paso a paso, de boca en boca. Deriva de archivo/archivo a la deriva en las memorias migrantes de Freisy González Portales y Diana Rangel Lampe
Cardona, Elena. "Paso a paso, de boca en boca. Deriva de archivo/archivo a la deriva en las memorias migrantes de Freisy González Portales y Diana Rangel Lampe." Revista Palabra y Razón 26, (2024): 36-59.
Spatial distribution of wildfire threat in the far north: exposure assessment in boreal communities
Schmidt, Jennifer I., Robert H. Ziel, Monika P. Calef, and Anna Varvak. “Spatial Distribution of Wildfire Threat in the Far North: Exposure Assessment in Boreal Communities.” Natural Hazards 120, no. 5 (2024): 4901–24.
Exploring the lived experience of mothers of children with leukemia: a qualitative study from Iran
Shaygani, Fatemeh, Katayoun Jalali, Hana Javanmardi Fard, Zahra Afrasiabi, and Milad Ahmadi Marzaleh. “Exploring the Lived Experience of Mothers of Children with Leukemia: A Qualitative Study from Iran.” BMC Women’s Health 24, no. 1 (2024).
Territorial Autonomy across Asia: Assessing Challenges, Addressing Concerns
Barter, Shane J. “Territorial Autonomy across Asia: Assessing Challenges, Addressing Concerns.” Asia Policy 19, no. 4 (2024): 177–205.
Maternal and perinatal health research during emerging and ongoing epidemic threats: a landscape analysis and expert consultation
Mercedes Bonet, Magdalena Babinska, Pierre Buekens, Shivaprasad S Goudar, Beate Kampmann, Marian Knight, Dana Meaney-Delman, Smaragda Lamprianou, Flor Muñoz Rivas, Andy Stergachis, Cristiana M Toscano, Joycelyn Bhatia, Sarah Chamberlain, Usman Chaudhry, Jacqueline M. Mills, et al. “Maternal and Perinatal Health Research during Emerging and Ongoing Epidemic Threats: A Landscape Analysis and Expert Consultation.” BMJ Global Health 9, no. 3 (March 2024): e014393.
Film, Media, and 50 Years of Latin American Perspective
Wilson, Kristi M., Alexander Scott, and Tomás Crowder-Taraborrelli. “Film, Media, and 50 Years of Latin American Perspectives.” Latin American Perspectives (June 2024)
La Via Campesina: A Digital Toolkit for Peasants’ Rights and Global Climate Justice
Wilson, Kristi M., & Tomas Crowder-Taraborrelli. "La Via Campesina: A Digital Toolkit for Peasants’ Rights and Global Climate Justice". Latin American Perspectives 51, no. 1 (May 2024): 337-339.
Protein Charge Neutralization Is the Proximate Driver Dynamically Tuning Reflectin Assembly
Levenson, Robert, Brandon Malady, Tyler Lee, Yahya Al Sabeh, Michael J. Gordon, and Daniel E. Morse. “Protein Charge Neutralization Is the Proximate Driver Dynamically Tuning Reflectin Assembly.” International Journal of Molecular Sciences 25, no. 16 (August 2024): 8954.
A colloidal model for the equilibrium assembly and liquid-liquid phase separation of the reflectin A1 protein
Huang, Tse-Chiang, Robert Levenson, Youli Li, Phillip Kohl, Daniel E. Morse, M. Scott Shell, and Matthew E. Helgeson. “A Colloidal Model for the Equilibrium Assembly and Liquid-Liquid Phase Separation of the Reflectin A1 Protein.” Biophysical Journal 123, no. 18 (September 2024): 3065–79.
The Hidden Barriers for International Students at Auto-Centric Universities
Allen, Ryan, Kafui Dzubey, and Yuki Miyoshi. "The Hidden Barriers for International Students at Auto-Centric Universities." Critical Internationalization Studies Review 3, no. 1 (2024).
Synergy of machine learning and density functional theory calculations for predicting experimental Lewis base affinity and Lewis polybase binding atoms
Huynh, Hieu, Khanh Le, Linh Vu, Trang Nguyen, Matthew Holcomb, Stefano Forli, and Hung Phan. “Synergy of Machine Learning and Density Functional Theory Calculations for Predicting Experimental Lewis Base Affinity and Lewis Polybase Binding Atoms.” Journal of Computational Chemistry 45, no. 18 (2024): 1552–61.
RMB internationalization and exchange rate exposure of Chinese listed firms
He, Qing, Bailin Liang, and Junyi Liu. "RMB internationalization and exchange rate exposure: Evidence from Chinese firms." Journal of International Money and Finance 45 (July 2024): 103098.
Distinct microbial communities in an ascidian-crustacean symbiosis
Hutchings, Brenna, Susanna López-Legentil, Lauren M Stefaniak, Marie L. Nydam, and Patrick M Erwin. “Distinct Microbial Communities in an Ascidian-Crustacean Symbiosis.” Environmental Microbiology Reports 16, no. 1 (2024): e13242

News Articles

Why the ‘Nostradamus’ of U.S. Presidential Elections Got His 2024 Call Wrong
Heto, Paa-Kwesi. "Why the ‘Nostradamus’ of U.S. Presidential Elections Got His 2024 Call Wrong." The Habari Network (November 13, 2024)
A Road Trip to Dead and Dying Colleges
Allen, Ryan. “A Road Trip to Dead and Dying Colleges.” Inside Higher Ed (November 2024)
‘Black Myth: Wukong’ Shows China’s Cultural Soft Power Is No Myth
Allen, Ryan. ‘Black Myth: Wukong’ Shows China’s Cultural Soft Power Is No Myth. The Diplomat (August 2024).
Teaching Abroad Is an Invaluable Experience: Ask Tim Walz
Allen, Ryan. “Teaching Abroad Is an Invaluable Experience: Ask Tim Walz.” University World News (August 2024).