LibGuides: BIO 353W: Microbiology PBL: Articles

Databases

AccessScience
Authoritative and comprehensive gateway to scientific knowledge, from basic introductory material to extended article entries in key scientific areas including biology, Earth and environmental sciences, chemistry, and physics. This is an online version of McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology.
Public Health Database
This database offers in-depth scholarly insights into important topics such as biostatistics, environmental health sciences, epidemiology, health services administration, international public health, maternal and child health, and occupational safety and health.
Science by AAAS
Science is the world's leading journal of original scientific research, global news, and commentary. The full-text coverage: 1997-present.
Science Database
This database is a definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. Search over 2.7M records, dating back to the mid 1980s.
ScienceDirect Journals & E-books
Elsevier's ScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals in Health & Life Sciences, Social & Behavioural Sciences, and Physical Sciences. Full-text coverage from 1995 to present.
Elsevier's College Edition Books Collections cover a wide range of authoritative content from eBooks, [hand]book series and Major Reference Works, published after 1995 in Health & Life Sciences, Physical Sciences, and Social & Behavioral Sciences.
Springer Nature E-journals
Science, medicine, engineering, technology, and education are the main focus of Springer. Full-text articles (1997-present) from 2,000+ peer-reviewed journals are available.
Web of Science
Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers high impact journals worldwide, including conference proceedings. The library subscribes to three collections: Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) covering from 1983 to present.
Academic Search Premier
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed journals. In addition, this database offers monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
ProQuest One Academic
With ProQuest One Academic, four core multi-disciplinary products – ProQuest Central, Academic Complete, Academic Video Online and ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global – are now available and cross-searchable on the same user-friendly, responsive, award-winning ProQuest platform.

New York Times Access

Free subscription to the NYT

1.Start here to create an account

2.Click: New York Times

3.Click: Create Account

4.Use Soka email & password

5.Click: Create Account

6.Select ”Student" & grad year

*Needs to be renewed each year*

Scholarly Journals vs. Popular Periodicals

Journals

American Academy of Microbiology Critical Issues Colloquia Reports

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is an open web source that will search scholarly content.

If the item is available freely online, there will be a link that reads "PDF" or "HTML"
If the item is available through Ikeda Library, there will be a link that reads "Find it @ Ikeda Library"

Media Bias Chart

Interactive Media Bias Chart - Ad Fontes Media
Click here to access the interactive chart to get more information about specific sources.

BIO 353W: Microbiology PBL: Articles