Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Act Up Oral History Project
The ACT UP Oral History Project is a collection of interviews with surviving members of the AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power, New York.The purpose of this project is to present comprehensive, complex, human, collective, and individual pictures of the people who have made up ACT UP/New York. From Website
Digital Transgender Archive
The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. Based in Worcester, Massachusetts at the College of the Holy Cross, the DTA is an international collaboration among more than twenty colleges, universities, nonprofit organizations, and private collections. From their website
GLBT Historical Society: Archives and Manuscript Collections (San Francisco)
The Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual Transgender Historical Society (GLBTHS) collects, preserves, and interprets the history of GLBT people and the communities that support them. We sponsor exhibits and programs on an on-going basis. The GLBTHS is located in San Francisco, CA. From Publisher
Invisible Histories Project (IHP)
"The Invisible Histories Project is designed to be a repository for the preservation of the history of LGBTQ life first in the state of Alabama and then the entire Southeast."
Lesbian Herstory Archives
"The Lesbian Herstory Archives is home to the world's largest collection of materials by and about lesbians and their communities."
New York Public Library: Gay and Lesbian Collections & AIDS/HIV Collections
The Manuscripts and Archives Division of the New York Public Library holds over 100 collections pertaining to the history and culture of gay men and lesbians, and to the history of the AIDS/HIV epidemic. From their website
ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives
"Founded in 1952, ONE Archives currently houses over two million archival items including periodicals, books, film, video and audio recordings, photographs, artworks, organizational records, and personal papers. ONE Archives has been a part of the University of Southern California Libraries since 2010."
Online Archive of California
The Online Archive of California (OAC) provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 200 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses. From Website
Physical Archives & Exhibits
Thousands of libraries, museums, and archives have contributed nearly a million collection descriptions to ArchiveGrid. Researchers searching ArchiveGrid can learn about the many items in each of these collections, contact archives to arrange a visit to examine materials, and order copies. From Website
Lavender Legacies by Society of American Archivists (SAA) Diverse Sexuality and Gender Section (DSGS)
"This is the first formal and comprehensive guide to primary source material relating to the history and culture of lesbian, bisexual, gay, and transgendered (LBGT) people held by repositories in North America."
Cornell University Library, Rare and Manuscript Collections: Human Sexuality Collection
The Human Sexuality Collection seeks to preserve and make accessible primary sources that document historical shifts in the social construction of sexuality, with a focus on U.S. lesbian and gay history and the politics of pornography. From their website
Gerber/Hart Library & Archive (Chicago)
Founded in Chicago in 1981, it is the Midwest's largest gay, lesbian and bisexual circulating library, archives, and resource center
June L. Mazer Lesbian Archives (West Hollywood)
Originally known as the West Coast Lesbian Collection, this is the only archive in the western United States "dedicated exclusively to preserving lesbian history." Holdings reach back to 1895 and include the papers of veteran lesbian activists Phyllis Lyon and Del Martin.
ONE Archives Foundation (Los Angeles)
Housed at the University of Southern California, this collection was formed in 1994 through the merger of the library of ONE (the oldest continuing homosexual activist group in the western hemisphere, founded in 1952) and the huge private collection of veteran activist Jim Kepner.
San Francisco Public Library James C. Hormel LGBTQIA Center
The James C. Hormel LGBTQIA Center is the gateway to the Library’s broader collections documenting lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, questioning, intersex and allies’ history and culture, with a special emphasis on the San Francisco Bay Area. The Hormel Center Reading Room on the 3rd floor of the Main Library houses LGBTQIA non-circulating materials.. From their website