LibGuides: EBP 107: Acad Comp/Reading: Articles

Social Sciences Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed journals. In addition, this database offers monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
Research Library This link opens in a new window
This site provides one-stop access to all the scholarly journals, books, videos & audio, dissertations & theses, and newspapers distributed by ProQuest.
Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Designed to support global awareness, Global Issues In Context ties together a wealth of authoritative content that empowers students to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
It offers contextual information and opinions on today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven series, the new solution features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text periodical articles, primary source documents, statistics, media files, and links to vetted websites.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Reference is the foundation of research. Credo Online Reference Service enhances the research experience by combining authoritative reference content with a one-stop exploratory search platform that drives usage of all trusted library resources.
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
This rich collection of consumer health information provides access to over 80 full text consumer health magazines, including American Fitness, Better Nutrition, Harvard Health Letter, Men's Health, Muscle & Fitness, Prevention, Vegetarian Times and many others.
Also included in this database is searchable full text for current health-related pamphlets and nearly 130 full text health reference books, including books published by the People's Medical Society.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Reference is the foundation of research. Credo Online Reference Service enhances the research experience by combining authoritative reference content with a one-stop exploratory search platform that drives usage of all trusted library resources.
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
It includes Gale's 19th-century, 20th-century, and Contemporary Literary Criticism volumes.

Free subscription to the NYT

1.Start here to create an account

2.Click: New York Times

3.Click: Create Account

4.Use Soka email & password

5.Click: Create Account

6.Select ”Student" & grad year

*Needs to be renewed each year*

Interactive Media Bias Chart - Ad Fontes Media
Click here to access the interactive chart to get more information about specific sources.