Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Evaluating Web Pages
Questions to Ask & Strategies for Getting the Answers is an excellent guide from UC Berkeley.
Five Criteria for Evaluating Web Sites
Here is a brief table of tips and questions to ask about webpages from Cornell University.
Evaluating Information from Penn State University
"One of the most basic concepts in doing good research is evaluating the information you plan to use. ...This tutorial, through a series of videos, will provide a framework for thinking critically about all the information you encounter..."
Asian Americans Then and Now: Linking Past to Present.
Library of Congress
Asian Division - Digital Collections
Online Archive of California
The Online Archive of California (OAC) provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 200 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses.
Pew Research Center
Asian Americans: A Diverse and Growing Population.
Google Scholar is an open web source that will search scholarly content.
- If the item is available freely online, there will be a link that reads "PDF" or "HTML"
- If the item is available through Ikeda Library, there will be a link that reads "Find it @ Ikeda Library"
Asian Art Museum - San Francisco
Mission: "To inspire new ways of thinking by connecting diverse communities to historical and contemporary Asian art and culture through our world-class collection, exhibitions and programs."
Chinese American Musuem - Los Angeles
Mission: "To foster a deeper understanding of, and appreciation for, America’s diverse heritage by researching, preserving, and sharing the history, rich cultural legacy, and continued contributions of Chinese Americans."
Japanese American National Museum - Los Angeles
Mission: "To promote understanding and appreciation of America’s ethnic and cultural diversity by sharing the Japanese American experience."
Korean American National Museum - Los Angeles
Mission: "To preserve and interpret the history, experiences, culture and achievements of Americans of Korean ancestry."
USC Pacific Asia Museum - Los Angeles
Mission: "To create inspiring encounters with the art, history and culture of Pacific Asia that promotes intercultural understanding in the service of elevating our shared sense of humanity."
Wing Luke Museum of the Asian American Experience
The Wing Luke Museum Governor Gary Locke Library and Community Heritage Center collects, preserves and provides access to archives, photographs, artifacts, and oral histories concerning the history, art and culture of local, regional, and national Asian Pacific American communities.
Stanford University - Chinese Railroad Workers Project
The Chinese Railroad Workers in North America Project at Stanford (CRRW) seeks to give a voice to the Chinese migrants whose labor on the Transcontinental Railroad helped to shape the physical and social landscape of the American West.
Stanford University - Hoji Shinbun Digital Collection
The Hoji Shinbun Digital Collection is currently the world’s largest online archive of open-access, full image Japanese American and other overseas Japanese newspapers in Asia and South America.
UC Berkeley - The Japanese American Evacuation and Resettlement
The Bancroft Library's documentation of the Japanese American experience during World War II includes over 250,000 pages from an extensive collection of manuscripts and photographs. The materials in the Japanese American Evacuation and Resettlement Digital Archive are pulled from our voluminous holdings and reveal the multifaceted experience from this complex time in US history. We invite you to explore these personal materials and recount the daily lives of Japanese Americans while in the confinement sites during World War II. Access to this material is provided through the Online Archive of California and Calisphere websites.
UC Irvine - Southeast Asian Archive
The scope of the collection is limited to documenting the diasporic peoples from Vietnam, Cambodia, and Laos including self-identified Khmer Americans, Hmong Americans, Laotian Americans, Yao (Iu Mien) Americans, and ethnic and cultural minorities. We do not collect materials about the home countries. We also do not collect materials about all Southeast Asian immigrants (e.g., Thailand, Malaysia, Burma, Indonesia, the Philippines or Singapore).
UCLA - East Asian Library
The Richard C. Rudolph East Asian Library (EAL) is the tenth largest East Asian Library in North America and the largest one in Southern California. As of June 30, 2013, the grand total of materials held is 764,737 volumes/items, which includes monographs, journals, microforms, audio-visual materials, and electronic books. Of that total, 367,496 volumes/items are in Chinese, 278,958 are in Japanese, and 62,756 are in Korean.