All library databases in alphabetical order
Last Updated: Dec 11, 2013
- ABI/INFORM Dateline
This database includes hard-to-find regional business publications with news about local companies, analysis, employment opportunities, benefits, compensation, and corporate strategies.
- ABI/INFORM Global
Find out about business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and competitive landscape. A deep backfile of the most important business journals of the last century is also included.
- ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry
This database includes in-depth coverage of companies, products, executives, and trends. Compare specific trades and industries, including telecommunications, computing, transportation, construction, petrochemicals and many others.
- Academic Search Premier
It provides access to acclaimed full-text journals, magazines, and other scholarly multidisciplinary content.
Authoritative and comprehensive gateway to scientific knowledge, from basic introductory material to extended article entries in key scientific areas including biology, Earth and environmental sciences, chemistry, and physics. This is an online version of McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology.
- Alternative HealthWatch
This database focuses on the many perspectives of holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It includes full-text articles for more than 200 international, and often peer-reviewed, journals and reports.
- America's Historical Newspapers
Searchable early American Newspapers (1690-1900)
- America: History & Life with Full Text
This resource provides concrete literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
- American Society of International Law Research Tools
ASIL's electronic research tools provide access to international law resources from primary source documents to asil publications. In addition, our Electronic Resource Guide is available to you in conducting your own online research.
- Anthropology Plus
As a compilation of the Royal Anthropological Institute’s Anthropological Index and Harvard University's Anthropological Literature databases, Anthropology Plus is a comprehensive index covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. This database offers worldwide indexing of journals from the early 19th century to today.
- Art & Architecture Complete
This replete database provides full-text coverage of hundreds of periodicals and books as well as an immense Image Collection provided by Picture Desk and others.
- Art Museum Image Gallery
Drawing on collections of distinguished museums from around the world, this database offers unparalleled access to high-quality art images and related multimedia.
- Business Source Elite
It provides full-text coverage of scholarly business, management and economics journals. This rich collection also includes publications covering topics such as accounting, banking, finance, international business, marketing, and sales.
- Calisphere: a World of Primary Resources
Calisphere is the University of California's gateway to a world of primary sources. More than 200,000 digitized items — including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts — reveal the diverse history and culture of California and its role in national and world history.
- Cambridge Dictionaries Online
Cambridge free English dictionary and thesauraus
- CAMIO: Catalog of Art Museum Images Online
It is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums. CAMIO highlights the creative output of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covering the complete range of expressive forms.
- Center for Disease Control Web site
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention is the nation’s premier public health agency, working to ensure healthy people in a healthy world.
- Chronicle of Higher Education
The Chronicle online is published every weekday. The Chronicle's Web site features the complete contents of the latest issue; daily news and advice columns; thousands of current job listings; an archive of previously published content; vibrant discussion forums; and career-building tools such as online CV management, salary databases, and more.
- CiNii Article
It searches journal articles held by university libraries in Japan
- CiNii Books & Journals
Union Catalog of books and journals held by university libraries in Japan
- Classical Music Library
Classical Music Library is the world's largest multi-label database of Classical music recordings for listening and learning in libraries. It is part of Music Online.
- Contemporary World Music
Contemporary World Music delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent. The database will contain important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more. It is part of Music Online.
- Country Studies by Library of Congress
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
- CQ Global Researcher: Exploring International Perspectives
By exposing readers to a wide range of viewpoints, this database provides a comprehensive snapshot of today's most pressing issues. The readable, single-topic reports on vital world issues are written by seasoned journalists with years of international experience.
- CQ Researcher Plus Archive
The reports in this database are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research.
- Data & Research by the World Bank
The World Bank Group has two ambitious goals: End extreme poverty within a generation and boost shared prosperity.
- Data & Statistics by IMF
The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 188 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world.
- Data & Statistics by WHO
World Health Organization (WHO) is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It provides leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends.
- Data Access Tools by U.S. Census Bureau
It provides the data about the nation's people and economy.
- Data-Planet Statistical Datasets
It provides easy access to an extensive repository of standardized and structured statistical data. The data are presented in charts, maps, graphs, and table form, via multiple points of entry.
- Data.gov: Empowering People
Data.gov is an official web site of the United States government and provides machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government.
- Database & Statistical Publications by ECLAC
Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean, ECLAC, is one of the five regional commissions of the United Nations. It was founded with the purpose of contributing to the economic development of Latin America.
- Dissertation Open Access
ProQuest Dissertation Open provides the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge. The authors of these dissertations and theses have opted to publish as open access and make their research available for free on the open Web.
- Dissertations Express
UMI Dissertation Express will let you look it up by title, author, or publication number. Once you find it, you can place your order immediately via their online ordering system.
- DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is a service that provides access to quality controlled Open Access Journals. The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use an appropriate quality control system, and it will not be limited to particular languages or subject areas.
- E-journal Finder
The library offers over 20,000 e-journals. Find e-journals by title or ISSN. If you already have a citation and want full text, try Citation Linker: http://goo.gl/hjT2D
- Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans
Searchable monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents and ephemera enable researchers to explore America's distant and not so distant past. It covers 1639-1800.
- Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker
Searchable monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents and ephemera enable researchers to explore America's distant and not so distant past. It covers 1801-1819.
- Ebrary E-books Academic Collection
The e-books are cross-searchable and accessible by multi-users, 24/7, from anywhere on campus (IP recognized). The growing collection currently provides access to over 88,300 e-books.
- EBSCO E-books Academic Collection
Over 100,000 e-books are accessible on the familiar EBSCOHost platform. They are cross-searchale and accessible by multi-users, 24/7.
- EBSCO E-Journal Service
Journals subscribed by SUA, full-text access.
This American Economic Association's electronic database adheres to the high-quality standards long recognized by subscribers to the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) and is a reliable source of citations and abstracts to economic research.
- Education Policy and Data Center
EPDC serves as a resource for education policy makers and the development community, providing a wealth of education data at national and subnational levels, dynamic data visualization, ready-made resources such as country education profiles, and in-depth research on issues and challenges facing education in developing countries.
- Encyclopædia Britannica Online, Academic Edition
Encyclopædia Britannica provide timely, relevant, and trustworthy information and instructional products used in universities throughout the world.
- EndNote Web
EndNote Web is a bibliography managing tool. It makes the storage of citations and the formatting of them in a paper much easier.
- Energy Information Administration: Independent Statistics & Analysis
The U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA) collects, analyzes, and disseminates independent and impartial energy information to promote sound policymaking, efficient markets, and public understanding of energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment.
- ERIC on EBSCOHost
This database provides access to educational literature and resources. It contains more than a million records and links to hundreds of thousands of full-text documents from ERIC back to 1966.
- ERIC: Educational Resources Information Center
Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC is an online digital library of education research and information. It provides ready access to education literature to support the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research.
- Filmakers Library Online
This database provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum: race and gender studies, human rights, global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science, psychology, arts, and literature.
- Foreign Trade: International Trade Statistics
If you're searching for import or export statistics, information on export regulations, commodity classifications, or a host of other trade related topics, this is the place to get the information you need.
- Foundation Directory Online
It is the nation's leading online funding research tool, developed by the Foundation Center, a national nonprofit service organization founded to help open U.S. foundations to public view. They have evolved from one small library into philanthropy's information hub. Please visit the library to use this database.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)
GVRL provides a growing collection of over 700 volumes of reference e-books. They include titles by not only Gale and its affiliated publishers, but also CQ, Elsevier, Facts on File, Sage, Springer, University Presses, and Wiley-Blackwell. All subjects are covered.
- GeNii Japanese Academic Information Portal
This portal allows users to search five Japanese databases (CiNii, WebCat Plus, KAKEN, Nii-DBR, and JAIRO) simultaneously. The majority of the reports and articles are in Japanese.
- Google Scholar
Search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
- GreenFILE: Covering all aspects of human impact to the environment
This comprehensive resource draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
- Health Source: Consumer Edition
This rich collection of consumer health information provides access to over 80 full text consumer health magazines, including American Fitness, Better Nutrition, Harvard Health Letter, Men's Health, Muscle & Fitness, Prevention, Vegetarian Times and many others.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
This resource provides over 500 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong.
- HighWire by Stanford University
This portal provides access to the archive of full-text journal articles in Biological, Medical, and Physical Science.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text
It covers the history of the world, excluding North America, focusing on the 15th century forward. This database is unmatched in its scope and breadth of historical and related social science literature.
- ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
ICPSR provides data access and methods of analysis for a diverse and expanding social science research community. The recorded webinars and tutorials at the ICPSR YouTube Channel (http://www.youtube.com/user/icpsrweb) cover a variety of topics including finding what you want on the ICPSR site, analyzing ICPSR data online, creating setup files for SPSS, as well as debugging SAS, SPSS, and Stata code.
- Ikeda Library Catalog
Search what you can find in the Ikeda Library. The catalog includes printed books and journals, electronic books and journals, databases, films, and audio CDs.
- In Motion: The African-American Migration Experience
Presented by the New York Public Library, this database provides more than 16,500 pages of texts, 8,300 illustrations, and more than 60 maps.
- Inter-Research Science Center
International, rigorously peer-reviewed scientific publications, copy-edited and typeset by a team of experts.
- JALT (Japan Association for Language Teaching) Journal
Archive and the current issue of JALT Journal is accessible on this page. For username and password, please contact the library. The publisher does not arrange campus-wide access by IP.
- James Nicholas Publishers
The library subscribes to all of their 7 peer-reviewed international journals in Education.
- Jazz Music Library
Jazz Music Library is the largest collection of streaming jazz available online. It is part of Music Online.
It is a digital library of academic journals and preserves the content for future generations. SUA subscribes to Life Sciences, Arts & Sciences I, II, III, and IV Collections.
- The Language Teacher
Archive and the current issue of the Language Teacher is accessible on this page. For username and password, please contact the library. The publisher does not arrange campus-wide access by IP.
- LexisNexis Academic
This resource contains full text articles of newspapers, legal resources, and company information. It covers both domestic and international.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.
- Literature Criticism Online
It is the largest, most extensive compilation of literary commentary available. Centuries of analysis - the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals - are delivered in online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals.
- Literature Resource Center
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.
Covering world literature and authors throughout history, LitFinder contains a wealth of literary works including over 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays.
- Library, Information Science, & Technology Abstracts
LISTA indexes more than 560 core journals and additional 175 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
- Medline (Web of Knowledge platform)
It is the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) premier life sciences database. Explore biomedicine, bioengineering, public health, clinical care, and plant and animal science. It contains backfiles to 1950.
- Medline Plus Health Information
Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information.
- Merriam-Webster Dictionaries
Merriam-Webster's English language dictionary and thesaurus contain 225,000 entries. These authoritative dictionaries are part of Encyclopedia Britannica.
- MLA Dictionary of Periodicals
The MLA Directory of Periodicals contains detailed information on over 6,000 journals and book series. This information has been gathered by the MLA bibliographers and the editors represented in the listings.
- MLA International Bibliography
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains millions of citations from journals & series, as well as book publishers.
- Music Online
It is a comprehensive online music resource that cross-searches all of the available collections: American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music Library, and Smithonian Global Sound Collections.
- National Archive's Online Public Access
Search the online catalog and other National Archives resources at once for information about their records.
- National Newspapers Core
This database’s detailed indexing helps users quickly find the news information they need. Each issue of each newspaper is indexed thoroughly, so researchers have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the papers.
- Nature: International Weekly Journal of Science
Nature is the world's most highly cited interdisciplinary science journal, according to the 2010 Journal Citation Reports Science Edition (Thomson Reuters, 2011). Its Impact Factor is 36.101. Full-text content is accessible from January, 2008 to present.
- Newspaper Source
This database provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national and international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for more than 330 regional (U.S.) newspapers.
- One Search / Summon
It searches the library catalog and databases simultaneously, casting the net to catch everything from journal articles to books.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context
It offers contextual information and opinions on today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven series, the new solution features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text periodical articles, primary source documents, statistics, media files, and links to vetted websites.
- Oxford English Dictionary
OED, the definitive record of the English language, is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
- Oxford Journals Full Collection
In this site, full-text articles (1996-present) from 250+ journals are available.
- Oxford Language Dictionaries Online
The innovative portal offers essential language resources never before available online: fully searchable, completely comprehensive bilingual dictionaries (Chinese, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Spanish), and unique study materials that provide extra help with learning and using an expanding range of languages.
- Oxford Language Web
The web's center is an English word of your choice. You type in a word and find the word in Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Polish, Russian, Portuguese, Spanish, and Thai.
- Oxford Music Online
Formerly known as Grove Music Online, Oxford Music Online is the gateway offering users the ability to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location.
- Oxford Reference
The library subscribes to 22 multi-volume Oxford encyclopedias. Click the "i" icon for the title list.
- PAIS International
This resource covers issues in the public debate discussed in a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, and web content. The coverage is 1972 to present.
- Philosopher's Index
Produced by the Philosopher’s Information Center, this current and comprehensive bibliographic database covers scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. This resource features author-written abstracts covering scholarly research published in journals and books, including contributions to anthologies and book reviews.
- PILOTS: Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress
This bibliographic database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its provides citations and abstracts to the international literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events.
- Political Science Complete
This resource provides a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse. Subject include comparative politics, humanitarian issues, international relations, law and legislation, non-governmental organizations and political theory.
- Project Muse
MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, with over 120 publishers currently participating. It is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community.
- ProQuest Religion
This database provides a wide range of primarily full-text, international periodicals for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies of major religions, as well as the most recent trends and scholarly thought.
- ProQuest Research Library
This resource provides one-stop access to more than 4,000 periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 academic disciplines.
- ProQuest Statistical Insight
Content: Statistical datasets from government and private sector sources; International statistical publications from the UN, EU, OECD, etc.; statistical publications of US Federal, US State government, business, and research institute; and Tables selected from US government and business reports
This full-text psychology database contains articles from highly-cited and landmark journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing.
Unmatched depth and breadth of coverage in Behavioral Science and Mental Health from the American Psychological Association (APA), this database provides abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations.
PubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
- RAND California
RAND California contains more than 170 databases in these categories: Business & Economics, Community, Education, Energy & Environment, Government Finance, Health & Socioeconomic, Population & Demographics. Much of the data are available at the national, state, county, and city levels.
- Regional Business News
This robust resource provides ultimate coverage for full-text business publications, on a regional level, for the United States and Canadian provinces. Key resources include newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, trade publications, magazines and newswires, with full-text content coverage spanning over 22 years.
- Research & Publications by UNDP
United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) partners with people at all levels of society to help build nations that can withstand crisis, and drive and sustain the kind of growth that improves the quality of life for everyone.
- Sage Premier journal collection
It includes about 700 leading international peer-reviewed journals, including high-impact research titles published on behalf of over 245 scholarly and professional societies. Full-text coverage: 1999-present.
- Science by AAAS
Science is the world's leading journal of original scientific research, global news, and commentary. The 2012 impact factor is 31.03 and five-year impact factor is 33.59. The full-text coverage: 1997-present.
Elsevier's ScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals. Ikeda library offers all three collections: Health & Life Sciences, Social & Behavioural Sciences, and Physical Sciences. Full-text coverage from 1995 to present.
- SocINDEX with Full Text
This is a comprehensive and high-quality sociology research database. Its extensive scope and content provide users with a wealth of useful information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study.
- Springer Link
Science, technology and medicine are the main focus of Springer. In this site, full-text articles (1997-present) from 2,000+ journals are available.
- Statistics & Databases by ADB
Research resources put together by Asian Development Bank. "ADB: Fighting Poverty in Asia and Pacific" aims for an Asia and Pacific free from poverty.
- Statistics by FAO of the UN
Food and Agriculture Organization develops methods and standards for food and agriculture statistics, provides technical assistance services, and disseminates data for global monitoring.
- Statistics by OECD
The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) provides a forum in which governments can work together to share experiences and seek solutions to common problems. Their mission is to improve the economic and social well-being of people around the world.
- Summon / One Search
It searches the library catalog and databases simultaneously, casting the net to catch everything from journal articles to books.
- Symposium Journals
The library subscribes to all of their 9 peer-reviewed international journals in Education.
- Taylor & Francis Social Science and Humanities Library
Over 1,070 journals by Taylor & Francis and Routlege are available in this e-journal collection. The full-text content is covered from 1997 to present.
- Teacher Reference Center
This database provides indexing and abstracts for 280 peer-reviewed journals. Assessment, Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, School Administration, and Teacher Education are some of the subjects covered.
TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from Transportation Research Board (TRB)’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than one million records of transportation research worldwide.
- U.S. History in Context
Find information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. The database merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text periodical articles, primary source documents, media files, and links to vetted websites.
- UN Wire: News from the United Nations
Sign up for UN Wire email newsletter. It delivers a daily snapshot of the myriad news stories that touch on the work of the UN, including diplomacy, humanitarian relief, addressing climate change and fighting disease and poverty.
- UNESCO Institute for Statistics
The primary source for cross-nationally comparable statistics on education, science and technology, culture, and communication for more than 200 countries and territories.
- UNICEF Publications
The site offers wealth of information on children's rights. Search their database by keyword, subject, and region.
- United Nations Official Document System
ODS supplies copies of documents published by the United Nations. Full-text of documents dating back to 1993 are available in PDF format.
- United Nations Statistical Database
It brings UN statistical databases within each reach of users through a single entry point. A variety of statistical resources can be searched and downloaded.
- Web of Science (Web of Knowledge)
Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 150,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage to 1983.
- Wiley Online Library
The library subscribes to Wiley-Blackwell Full Collection that provides access to 1,550+ journals by the publisher. The full-text articles are covered from 1997 to the present. Also, increasing number of Wiley's e-books are available on this platform.
- World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
- World Report 2013 by HRW
The World Report is Human Rights Watch’s twenty-third annual review of human rights practices around the globe. It summarizes key human rights issues in more than 90 countries and territories worldwide, drawing on events from the end of 2011 through November 2012.
- World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean
It provides access to reference, periodicals, multimedia, reports, studies, and statistical data. An archive of digitized primary documents focus on the history of Latin America and the Caribbean back to the early 1800s through the contemporary period sourced from collections in the U.S. and abroad.
This is an open access version of WorldCat, FirstSearch, a cooperative database of bibliographic records contributed by libraries from all over the world. This library union catalog lets you search other libraries' collections.
- WorldCat (FirstSearch)
It is a cooperative database of bibliographic records contributed by libraries from all over the world. This library union catalog lets you search other libraries' collections.
- WorldCat Dissertations
This database provides fast and convenient access to the dissertations and theses available in OCLC member libraries. Many of these are available electronically, at no charge, directly from the publishing institution.