This database offers "primary source material essential to the study of American history and African-American culture, history, politics, and the arts. Examine major movements from the Harlem Renaissance to Civil Rights, and explore everyday life as written in the Chicago Defender, The Baltimore Afro-American, New York Amsterdam News, Pittsburgh Courier, Los Angeles Sentinel, Atlanta Daily World, The Norfolk Journal and Guide, The Philadelphia Tribune, and Cleveland Call and Post."
Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003)
The Atlanta Daily World had the first black White House correspondent and was the first black daily in the nation in the 20th century.
The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988)
The most widely circulated black newspaper on the Atlantic coast. It was the first black newspaper to have correspondents reporting on World War II, foreign correspondents, and female sports correspondents.
Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
A leading African-American newspaper, with more than two-thirds of its readership outside Chicago.
Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991)
Founded by Garrett Morgan, inventor of the gas mask and traffic light. Contributors included noted journalists Charles H. Loeb and John Fuster. The newspaper is well known for its support of the Scottsboro trial defendants with letters, clothing, stamps, and donations to the defense fund.
Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005)
The oldest and largest black newspaper in the western United States and the largest African-American owned newspaper in the U.S.
New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
The leading Black newspaper of the 20th century reached its peak in the 1940s. The Amsterdam News was a strong advocate for the desegregation of the U.S. military during World War II, and also covered the historically important Harlem Renaissance.
The Norfolk Journal and Guide (1921-2003)
The only black newspaper to provide on-the-scene, day-to-day coverage of the Scottsboro trial, and was one of the best researched and well written black newspapers of its time.
The Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001)
The oldest continuously published black newspaper, is dedicated to the needs and concerns of the fourth largest black community in the U.S. During the 1930s the paper supported the growth of the United Way, rallied against the riots in Chester, PA, and continuously fought against segregation.
Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
One of the most nationally circulated Black newspapers, the Pittsburgh Courier reached its peak in the 1930s. A conservative voice in the African-American community, the Pittsburgh Courier challenged the misrepresentation of African-Americans in the national media and advocated social reforms to advance the cause of civil rights.
It includes about 700 leading international peer-reviewed journals, including high-impact research titles published on behalf of over 245 scholarly and professional societies. Full-text coverage: 1999-present.
Elsevier's College Edition Books Collections cover a wide range of authoritative content from eBooks, [hand]book series and Major Reference Works, published after 1995 in Health & Life Sciences, Physical Sciences, and Social & Behavioral Sciences.
Elsevier's ScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals in Health & Life Sciences, Social & Behavioural Sciences, and Physical Sciences. Full-text coverage from 1995 to present.
The library subscribes to Wiley-Blackwell Full Collection that provides access to 1,550+ journals by the publisher. The full-text articles are covered from 1997 to the present. Also, increasing number of Wiley's e-books are available on this platform.